Mexico’s Ramos repeats as CONCACAF Male Referee of the Year
El mexicano César Ramos (en la foto) ganó el premio de Árbitro del Año de CONCACAF en el 2016 y 2017. (Foto: Mexsport)

MIAMI – Mexico’s Cesar Ramos was announced Tuesday as the 2017 CONCACAF Male Referee of the Year, becoming the first person to earn the accolade in consecutive years.

On Sunday, the 34-year-old was in the middle for the FIFA Club World Cup final between Real Madrid and Gremio.  Earlier this year, Ramos officiated in the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the second leg of the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League final (Pachuca-Tigres) and key World Cup qualifiers (Panama-USA, Costa Rica-Honduras).

During the 2017 Liga MX Apertura, he worked 11 matches.

Cesar Ramos | Árbitro del año en CONCACAF

In an equally-weighted vote among Member Association women’s and men’s national team coaches/captains, media and fans, El Salvador’s Joel Aguilar (the 2015 honoree) and Kimbell Ward of St. Kitts & Nevis finished second and third, respectively.

CONCACAF Male Referee of the Year
List of Winners

2013: Marco Antonio Rodriguez (Mexico)
2014: Mark Geiger (USA)
2015: Joel Aguilar (El Salvador)
2016: Cesar Ramos (Mexico)
2017: Cesar Ramos (Mexico)