Youth featured on Canada roster for Africa trip

Canada forward Anthony Jackson-Hamel (red jersey) has one goal in five games for the Impact de Montreal during the current MLS season. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)

OTTAWA – Seven players born in 1993 or later have received call-ups to Canada for two international friendlies in Africa. 

Interim head coach Michael Findlay will lead a 23-man squad slated to face Mauritania on October 7 and Morocco four days later. Both matches will be played in Marrakech, Morocco. 

"It will be a vibrant and positive environment for training, competition, and learning," said Findlay. “We have an exciting group of young players who will begin to solidify their spots for years to come." 

From the youthful contingent, Impact de Montreal forward Anthony Jackson-Hamel will have the opportunity to earn his first cap after being part of the under-23 team that competed at the 2015 CONCACAF Men's Olympic Qualifying Championship. 

The youngest player on the roster is Vancouver Whitecaps midfielder Marco Bustos, who was born on April 22, 1996, while 37-year-old goalkeeper Kenny Stamatopoulos is the oldest. 

The matches will be Canada's first since being eliminated from qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in September.  


GOALKEEPERS: Milan Borjan (Ludogorets Razgrad/Bulgaria), Kenny Stamatopoulos (AIK/Sweden), Simon Thomas (Bodo/Glimt/Norway) 

DEFENDERS: Fraser Aird (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Marcel De Jong (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Jamar Dixon (Ottawa Fury FC), David Edgar (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Doneil Henry (Horsens/Denmark), Manjrekar James (Vasas Budapest/Hungary), Karl W. Ouimette (Jacksonville Armada/USA), Steven Vitoria (Lechia Gdansk/Poland) 

MIDFIELDERS: Scott Arfield (Burnley/England), Marco Bustos (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Marcus Haber (no club), Junior Hoilett (no club), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Samuel Piette (Izarra/Spain), Tosaint Ricketts (Toronto FC), Adam Straith (Fredrikstad/Norway), Maxim Tissot (Ottawa Fury FC) 

FORWARDS: Jordan Hamilton (Toronto FC), Simeon Jackson (Walsall/England), Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Impact de Montreal)