U.S. women to take 25 players to pre-tournament camp

Tobin Heath (pictured) was named the 2016 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year. (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)

CHICAGO – United States women’s national team head coach Jill Ellis named Wednesday 25 players to a training camp roster prior to the 2017 SheBelieves Cup, a four-team tournament that also includes England, France and Germany.

The Americans will convene in Orlando, Florida, on February 20 for a week of training, before heading to Philadelphia to kick off the second edition of the annual tournament on March 1 against Germany at Talen Energy Stadium.

"There will be no better test than opening against Germany, so we will need to have a laser focus as soon as we land in Orlando," said Ellis.  "As our players have not yet returned to their clubs, they have been training in their independent environments, so playing as much 11v11 situations will again be critical during these few days.”

A trio of 2016 award winners highlight the selection: MF Carli Lloyd (FIFA Women’s Player of the Year), FW Alex Morgan (CONCACAF Female Player of the Year) and MF Tobin Heath (U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year).

Also meriting a call-up is 16-year-old midfielder Brianna Pinto, who was a member of the 2016 CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship winning squad and a starter at the 2016 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.


GOALKEEPERS: Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS: Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Sarah Killion (Sky Blue FC), Rose Lavelle (Boston Breakers), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Samantha Mewis (NC Courage), Brianna Pinto (CASL)

FORWARDS: Crystal Dunn (Chelsea Ladies FC/England), Alex Morgan (Lyon/France), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (UCLA), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Lynn Williams (NC Courage)