U.S. tabs roster for January camp

USA forward Jordan Morris (#8) celebrates after scoring against Jamaica in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup final. (Photo: AFP Services)

CHICAGO -- Acting United States head coach Dave Sarachan called in 30 players for the national team’s annual January training camp, it was announced Monday.

The squad will convene on January 10 at the National Training Center in Carson, California, and work towards an international friendly in the same city against Bosnia and Herzegovina on January 28 at the StubHub Center.

"We're excited about our 2018 January Camp roster. It's all about the future and opportunity," said Sarachan. "We clearly feel that we want to have a look at these players that have the chance to be a part of the National Team for a number of years to come. It's a long journey forward, but this is the first step starting in 2018 for the program and for these players to now get experience at this level."

Seven players from the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup championship side earned invitations, including Seattle Sounders FC forward Jordan Morris, who struck for the game-winning goal in the 2-1 win over Jamaica in the final.

D.C. United midfielder Ian Harkes, the son of U.S. soccer legend John Harkes, will participate in his first national team camp.


GOALKEEPERS: Alex Bono (Toronto FC/Canada) Bill Hamid (Midtjylland/Denmark), Cody Cropper (New England Revolution), Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew SC)

DEFENDERS: Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Nick Lima (San Jose Earthquakes), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/Canada), Ike Opara (Sporting Kansas City), Tim Parker (Vancouver Whitecaps FC/Canada), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Walker Zimmerman (Los Angeles Football Club)

MIDFIELDERS: Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls), Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Russell Canouse (D.C. United), Marky Delgado (Toronto FC/Canada), Marlon Hairston (Colorado Rapids), Ian Harkes (D.C. United), Brooks Lennon (Real Salt Lake), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Dom Dwyer (Orlando City SC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Christian Ramirez (Minnesota United FC), Rubio Rubin (no club), CJ Sapong (Philadelphia Union)