Trinidad roster for OSN Cup unveiled

Kenwyne Jones (pictured) was named to Trinidad & Tobago's roster for the OSN Cup, September 5-9, 2013, in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. (Photo: Mexsport)

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad & Tobago – Stoke City’s Kenwyne Jones and Khlaeem Hyland of Racing Genk were among 21 players called up to Trinidad & Tobago for the OSN Cup, September 5-9, in Saudi Arabia.

Head coach Stephen Hart made the announcement on Friday during a press conference at Hasely Crawford Stadium’s VIP Lounge. 

Even though the Soca Warriors had a successful run to the quarterfinals of July’s CONCACAF Gold Cup, the former Canada chief is bringing in nine players who were not on the roster for that competition.

“I felt it was extremely important with this squad to look at players that I didn’t get the opportunity to see or work with at the Gold Cup,” said Hart.  “I tried to make selections that were based on areas in the squad I think we need to create competition for places in.”

The panel also includes five players from Trinidad’s representatives – Caledonia AIA and DIRECTV W Connection -- in this season’s CONCACAF Champions League, led by 95-time capped midfielder Densill Theobald.

In its first game at the four-nation OSN Cup on September 5, Trinidad will face the United Arab Emirates.  Depending on results, the eight-time Caribbean champion will meet either New Zealand or Saudi Arabia four days later in either the final or the match for third place.


(OSN Cup – September 5-9, 2013 in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)

GOALKEEPERS: Jan Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre), Glenroy Samuel (Caledonia AIA)

DEFENDERS: Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen/Belgium), Justin Hoyte (Middlesbrough/England), Robert Primus (FC Aktobe, Kazakhstan), Mekeil Williams (DIRECTV W Connection), Aubrey David (Caledonia AIA), Radanfah Abu Bakr (FC Vostok/Kazakhstan), Daneil Cyrus (DIRECTV W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force)

MIDFIELDERS: Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk/Belgium), Kevan George (Columbus Crew), Kevin Molino (Orlando City/USA), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Marcus Joseph (Point Fortin Civic Centre), Ataullah Guerra (RoPS/Finland), Andre Boucaud (Notts County/England)

FORWARDS: Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City/England), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava/Slovakia), Willis Plaza (Song Lam Nghe/Vietnam)