Roster named for U.S. women’s training camp

USA's Amy Rodriguez, shown enjoying a moment with son Ryan after a 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup match against Nigeria, was called up to a January 2017 training camp. (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)

CHICAGO – United States women's national team head coach Jill Ellis named Wednesday a 29-player roster for the first training camp of 2017 that will run from January 13-23 at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in Carson, California.

Six uncapped players – goalkeepers Jane Campbell and Adrianna Franch; and midfielders Kristen Edmonds, Christina Gibbons, Rose Lavelle and Taylor Smith -- were extended invitations, while forward Amy Rodriguez, a member of the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup championship side, makes her return for the first time since giving birth on July 1, 2016.

"The players have had a good break since our last games in November, and I know everyone is anxious to get back to work," said Ellis. "January Camp has always been valuable to set the tone for the upcoming year and it will be good for the players to get back on the field.”

U.S. captain Carli Lloyd, who is the most capped player on the roster with 232, is four goals away from becoming the sixth player in U.S. history to score 100 international goals. Current U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year Tobin Heath comes into the camp with 128 caps and 18 goals.


GOALKEEPERS: Jane Campbell (Stanford University), Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS: Jaelene Hinkle (Western New York Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Kristen Edmonds (Orlando Pride), Christina Gibbons (Duke University), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (University of Wisconsin), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Samantha Mewis (Western New York Flash), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC), Taylor Smith (Western New York Flash)

FORWARDS: Crystal Dunn (Chelsea Ladies FC/England), Jessica McDonald (Western New York Flash), Alex Morgan (Lyon/France), Kealia Ohai (Houston Dash), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Lynn Williams (Western New York Flash)