Pachuca wins Liga MX Women’s Cup

Pachuca (pictured) celebrates after defeating Club Tijuana in the Liga MX Women’s Cup final on May 7, 2017, in Toluca, Mexico. (Photo courtesy of Liga MX Femenil)

TOLUCA, Mexico – Berenice Muñoz (3’, 21’, 51’) scored three goals and Pachuca captured the Liga MX Women’s Cup title with a 9-1 victory over Club Tijuana in the final on Sunday at the Estadio FMF. 

It was the club’s second celebration in less than a month, with the men’s side topping Tigres for the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League crown, 2-1 on aggregate, in April. 

In addition to Muñoz’s hat-trick heroics, Yamile Franco (7’, 44’) and Monica Ocampo (37’, 41’) both netted braces. Diana Garcia (18’) and Lizbeth Angeles (65’) added in a goal each. Club Tijuana’s only goal was scored by Inglis Hernandez (35’). 

Pachuca (Group 1: 3W-0D-0L; 18GF, 4GA), and Club Tijuana (Group 3: 3W-0D-0L; 6GF, 0GA) advanced to the decider by having the best overall records of the 12 teams that competed in the group stage (three groups of four teams each). Club America (Group 2: 2W-1D-0L (11GF, 1GA) won Group 2, but a scoreless draw with Tigres on May 5 saw it chances of progressing fade away. 

The Liga MX Women’s Cup is a precursor to the inaugural edition of the league, which is expected to launch later this year.  

Liga MX Women’s Cup – Final

May 7, 2017: Estadio FMF – Toluca, Mexico

Pachuca-Club Tijuana 9-1 (4-1)

Berenice Muñoz 3', 21', 51'; Yamile Franco 7', 44'; Diana Garcia 18'; Monica Ocampo 37', 41'; Lizbeth Angeles 65' / Inglis Hernandez 35' 

Pachuca: Miriam Aguirre; Natalia Melgoza, Diana Monroy (Karla Zempoalteca 52’), Nataly Cardenas (Lizbeth Perez 60’), Karla Nieto, Jaquelin Garcia (Fatima Arellano 46’), Michelle Gonzalez (Karen Gomez 46’), Monica Ocampo, Berenice Muñoz (Joselyn de la Rosa 52’), Diana Garcia (Lizbeth Angeles 41’), Yamile Franco. Head Coach: Eva Espejo 

Club Tijuana: Isela Parra; Veronica Perez, Ana Lara, Nubia Ayala, Yazmin Guzman (Kenya Castañeda 64’), Esmeralda Verdugo, Karla Perez (Patricia Gutierrez 35’), Christian Jaramillo, Ericka Soto (Paulina Chaidez 35’), Inglis Hernandez, Claudia Ibarra. Head Coach: Andrea Rodebaugh

R: Quetzalli Alvarado; AR1: Mayte Chavez; AR2: Enedina Caudillo; 4th: Karen Diaz