How to Vote - 2013 CONCACAF Awards


The CONCACAF Awards will honor players and achievements in CONCACAF sanctioned tournaments and competitions involving the Confederation’s national teams at all levels, including FIFA World Cup qualifying for both genders, in all age categories. Performances also eligible for recognition include those achieved in professional club football leagues under CONCACAF’s stewardship in North America, Central America and the Caribbean, as well as the CONCACAF Champions League.

Players, Coaches and Referees of any nationality are eligible to be nominated, so long as they meet at least one of the following criteria:

1. Have played/coached/refereed in an official CONCACAF tournament at club or national level OR

2. Have played/coached/refereed for a CONCACAF member national team in a FIFA-sanctioned international competition OR

3. Have played/coached/refereed in a domestic league within CONCACAF’s territory:

• A player/coach/referee from the CONCACAF region, who does not meet the above criteria (i.e. a player whose only performances in the past year came in a European or Asian league etc.), would not be eligible;

• Goal of the Year applies only to goals scored during CONCACAF official competitions;

• Voters should base their judgments solely on performances in the above categorized competitions from January 1, 2013 to present.

This year’s award categories include Male and Female Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Referee of the Year, and Goal of the Year. In each class, a semifinal list of 20 nominees has already been determined through voting of Technical Directors from each of CONCACAF’s 41 Member Associations and the CONCACAF Technical Study Group, which analyzes tactics and rates performances at all official CONCACAF tournaments.

The semifinal lists produced by those groups, which can be found here, are now set to be submitted for final voting among three important stake-holding segments of the Confederation: Member Associations’ national team coaches and captains, media and fans. The national team coaches and captains from across the Confederation will account for one third of the final vote, and accredited members of CONCACAF’s media circle will contribute another third of the tally. Fans from around the region and the world are invited to vote online for the final one-third segment of the vote.

“These CONCACAF Awards are built around an inclusionary approach to voting, by reaching out to multiple contributors including our valued fans,” said General Secretary Enrique Sanz. “We thank these groups for their efforts, and as a result we can be sure that those honored in December will be deserving of their prizes from the standpoints of those important stake-holding groups.”

Fans can have their say in the voting by visiting the fan voting page on, available here. Media should cast their ballot via the dedicated link to be sent separately to media members on CONCACAF’s distribution list. To apply to join the media list, please contact

Voting will be open from November 26, 2013, through December 12, 2013, at 11:59pm EST.