Guadalajara wins inaugural Liga MX Women’s title

Guadalajara players and staff (pictured) celebrate with the trophy after prevailing over visiting Pachuca to win the Liga MX Women’s Apertura title on November 24, 2017, in Zapopoan, Mexico. (Photo: Mexsport)

ZAPOPAN, Mexico – Guadalajara was crowned the first-ever Liga MX Women’s champion on the strength of a 3-0 over visiting Pachuca in the second leg of the 2017 Apertura final on Friday before a record crowd of 32,466 at the Estadio Chivas.

It was a historic, hard-fought comeback by Chivas, which lost the first leg, 2-0, on November 20.

Arlett Tovar scored the first of her two goals to give the host a 1-0 lead in the 37th minute, when she nodded home from seven yards off Tania Morales’ perfectly delivered left-sided corner kick.

In the 56th minute, the duo combined again to make it 2-0.  On this occasion, Morales took a corner from the right that connected with the 20-year-old Tovar’s head from three yards.

The rally was completed in the 68th minute as Brenda Viramontes slipped a pass into the box for Norma Duarte Palafox, who – in a one-v-one situation with goalkeeper Alejandria Godinez – maintained composure and hit the back of the net from 12-yards out with her right foot.

Pachuca searched relentlessly for a goal, but the Guadalajara defense – which conceded a league second-best 10 goals in 14 regular-season games – stood firm.