Canada reveals Women’s World Cup roster

Canada's roster for the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup was unveiled at a special ceremony (above) on April 27, 2015, in Vancouver. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)

VANCOUVER, Canada – Canada named on Monday a 23-player roster for the FIFA Women’s World Cup, which it will host June 6 – July 5, 2015.  The selection will not become official until it is submitted to FIFA by the deadline date of May 25.

Forward Christine Sinclair, who has 153 international goals, leads the way for Canada, which also features several players who were part of the bronze medal-winning team from the 2012 London Olympic Games, including goalkeeper Erin McLeod, midfielders Diana Matheson, Desiree Scott and Sophie Schmidt, as well as forward Melissa Tancredi.

“Today marks the culmination of three years of dedicated work from the team and we are pleased with the final selection,” Canada coach John Herdman said.  “After the Olympics, we challenged the players to shed an old skin and strive to be even better as a team, and as individuals.  They all committed wholeheartedly to this vision and competition for each position was fierce.  Ultimately, we feel that this group of 23 makes us the best team we can be across our four corners of the game.  They fully deserve this honor.”

Six players on the roster have at least 100 international appearances, while six others have more than 80.

“We’ve got a fantastic group of players here that are ready to step up and proudly represent their country on the biggest stage,” remarked Herdman.  “It’s now up to the Canadians to show them that they are not alone on this journey and that they’ve got the strength of an entire country with them.”

Before hosting the tournament, Canada plays England May 29 in Hamilton.

Canada opens the tournament against Group A rival China PR (June 6 in Edmonton), before meeting New Zealand (June 11 in Edmonton) and the Netherlands (June 15 in Montreal).


(2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup as of April 27, 2015)

GOALKEEPERS: Stephanie Labbe (unattached), Karina LeBlanc (Chicago Red Stars), Erin McLeod (Houston Dash)

DEFENDERS: Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia University), Allysha Chapman (Houston Dash), Robyn Gale (no club), Carmelina Moscato (no club), Marie-Eve Nault (no club), Lauren Sesselmann (Houston Dash), Rhian Wilkinson (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Zurrer (no club)

MIDFIELDERS: Jessie Fleming (London NorWest), Selenia Iacchelli (no club), Kaylyn Kyle (Portland Thorns), Ashley Lawrence (West Virginia University), Diana Matheson (Washington Spirit), Desiree Scott (Notts County Ladies/England), Sophie Schmidt (no club)

FORWARD: Josee Belanger (no club), Jonelle Filigno (Sky Blue), Adriana Leon (Chicago Red Stars), Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns), Melissa Tancredi (Chicago Red Stars)