• men´s
  • women´s
  • Olympic Qualifying - Men -- About

    Since 1992, Olympic qualifying has been a strictly under-23 competition, in line with FIFA's under-17 and under-20 World Cups.

    Beginning in 1996, teams that qualified for the Olympics were permitted to supplement their rosters with three players not restricted by age in its 18-man final list.

    CONCACAF is allotted two teams in the 16-nation Olympic Games tournament, decided through a qualifying process that usually begins in the Caribbean approximately one year before the Olympics.

    Like most of CONCACAF's age-restricted tournaments, the finals are usually contested among eight teams in a single country. The Caribbean is allotted two berths while Central America is granted three. They join North America's three: Canada, Mexico and the United States, divided into two groups of four teams for the group stage, with semifinals and final.


    CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying

    Year   Venue                   Qualifiers

    1924   ---                          United States

    1928   ---                          Mexico, United States

    1936   ---                          United States

    1948   ---                          Mexico, United States

    1952   ---                          Netherlands Antilles, United States

    1956   ---                          United States

    1960   Peru                      None

    1964   Mexico                  *Mexico

    1968   Various                 El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico

    1972   Various                *Mexico, United States

    1976   Various                Canada, Cuba, Guatemala, *Mexico

    1980   Various                ~Cuba, *Costa Rica

    1984   Various                Canada, *Costa Rica, United States

    1988   Various                ^Guatemala, United States

    1992   Various                Mexico, *United States

    1996   Canada               *Mexico, United States

    2000   United States     *Honduras, United States

    2004   Mexico                  Costa Rica, *Mexico

    2008   United States      *Honduras, United States

    2012   United States      Honduras, *Mexico


    No national teams from the North and Central American & Caribbean region participated in the Olympic Games from 1908-1920. Between 1924 and 1956, CONCACAF teams were either invited or qualified automatically for the Olympic Games. In 1960, the first Olympic qualifying tournament was held that combined countries from both North and South America but four years later, CONCACAF staged its first qualifying event solely for qualifiers for the teams within its region.


    *Tournament winner

    ~Replaced United States, which withdrew

    ^Replaced Mexico, which was disqualified

Don't miss this on CONCACAF