• About the Central American Cup

    Organized by the Central American Football Union (UNCAF) since 1991, the Central American Cup is the biennial championship for the region’s national teams, which also serves as a CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifying competition.

    It has been contested on 12 occasions, always in odd-numbered years and hosted within the borders of an affiliated member association.

    The next edition, however, will be played in the United States, September 3-13, 2014, to celebrate UNCAF’s upcoming 25th anniversary. By virtue of changing the tournament’s traditional timeframe to coordinate with the FIFA international calendar, all teams will be in a position to compete with their biggest stars.

    In addition to deciding a champion and qualifiers for the 2015 Gold Cup, the next Central American Cup champion will also earn a direct berth to the Centennial Cup America 2016, also be played in the United States.

    Costa Rica is the current Central American Cup champion and has lifted the trophy a record seven times. Honduras is next with three titles, while Guatemala and Panama have won one apiece. Belize, El Salvador and Nicaragua round out the list of participants.


    1991: Costa Rica
    1993: Honduras
    1995: Honduras
    1997: Costa Rica
    1999: Costa Rica
    2001: Guatemala
    2003: Costa Rica
    2005: Costa Rica
    2007: Costa Rica
    2009: Panama
    2011: Honduras
    2013: Costa Rica

Don't miss this on CONCACAF