• Monday May 26, 2014

    WWCQ: Costa Rica earns CONCACAF berth

    Costa Rica (pictured) poses for a team photo before its Central American Women's World Cup qualifier against Nicaragua on May 24, 2014, in Guatemala City, Guatemala.


    GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala – Costa Rica posted a 3-0 victory over Nicaragua on Saturday to finish in first place of Central American, Group II qualifying for the FIFA Women’s World Cup.  As a result, it earned a ticket to the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship -- the confederation’s final round of qualifying for Canada 2015 – and will face Group I winner and host Guatemala on Monday for a place in 2015 Pan American Games.

    At the Estadio Mateo Flores, Raquel Rodriguez Cedeño (14’) and Katherine Alvarado (19’) each scored in a second straight games to give the Costa Ricans a 2-0 half-time lead over their northern neighbor.  Gloriana Villalobos, at only 14-year-old, netted in the 76th minute to complete the scoreline.

    Guatemala finished with a perfect 3-0-0 record thanks to a 5-0 win over Belize.  A brace by Diana Barrera (10’, 32’) put the Chapinas ahead 2-0.  Second-half strikes by Christian Recinos (55’) and Ana Lucia Martinez (77’) sandwiched an own-goal by Idania Ramirez (72’).

    Panama topped Honduras 4-1 to conclude its participation with two straight wins following a narrow 1-0 loss to Guatemala in the opener.  Amarelis De Mera (22’, 66’, 72’) scored three goals after Natalia Mills (18’) handed the Canaleras an early lead.  Waleska Amaya (90’+3) converted a late penalty kick for Honduras’ only goal.

    Guatemala City, Guatemala – Estadio Mateo Flores


    May 20, 2014
    Honduras 8, Belize 0
    Guatemala 1, Panama 0

    May 22, 2014
    Belize 1, Panama 13
    Guatemala 3, Honduras 2

    May 24, 2014
    Panama 4, Honduras 1
    Guatemala 5, Belize 0 


    Team  GP  W  D  L  GF  GA  P
    *Guatemala  3  3  0  0 9  2 9
    Panamá  3  2  0  1  17 3 6
    Honduras  3  1  0  2  11  7  3
    Belice  3 0  0  3 1 26 0

    * advances to 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship


    May 20, 2014
    Nicaragua 0, El Salvador 2

    May 22, 2014
    El Salvador 0, Costa Rica 4

    May 24, 2014
    Costa Rica 3  Nicaragua 0



    Team  GP  W  D  L  GF  GA  P
    *Costa Rica  2  2  0  0  7  0  6
    El Salvador  2  1  0  1  2  4  3
    Nicaragua  2  0  0  2  0  5  0

     * advances to 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship


    Amarelis DeMera, Panama

    Jenny Alarcon, Honduras

    Marta Cox, Panama

    Diana Barrera, Guatemala

    Katherine Alvarado, Costa Rica

    Waleska Amaya, Honduras

    Natalia Mills, Panama

    Maria Monterroso, Guatemala

    Raquel Rodriguez Cedeño, Costa Rica

    own-goal in favor of, Panama


    Wendy Acosta, Costa Rica

    Ingris Castellon, Honduras

    Emely Dow, Panama

    Francisca del Carmen Gonzalez, El Salvador

    Alexandria Hall, Honduras

    Candace Johnson, Panama

    Ana Lucia Martinez, Guatemala

    Coralia Andrea Monterroso, Guatemala

    Kursha Pollard, Belize

    Damaris Quelez, El Salvador

    Christian Recinos, Guatemala

    Fanny Rodriguez, Honduras

    Lixy Maria Rodriguez, Costa Rica

    Cindy Sotillo, Panama

    Wendy Umanzor, Honduras

    Gloriana Villalobos, Costa Rica

    own-goal in favor of, Guatemala

  • Champions League

    Related News


2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Quarterfinals Set

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the official pairings and kick-off times of Quarterfinal matches in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

2014 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana update

The Union of Central American Football (UNCAF) revealed Wednesday that the next UNCAF Copa Centroamericana

Final 2013 Gold Cup rosters revealed

CONCACAF unveiled today the final rosters submitted by the National Teams participating in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Mexico vs Panama

Sunday 7 July 2013 – 5 p.m. (8 p.m. ET) Rose Bowl, Pasadena, California USA

2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League Quarterfinals Schedule Set

Eight teams will battle for a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup Morocco 2014