• Friday May 23, 2014

    Women’s WCQ in Caribbean starts Friday

    Puerto Rico (pictured) will open its 2014 CFU Women's Caribbean Cup campaign against visiting Barbados on May 25, 2014, at the Estadio Juan Ramon Loubriel in Bayamon. (Photo courtesy of the Federación Puertorriqueña de Fútbol)

    KINGSTON, Jamaica – Caribbean qualifying for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup opens Friday as 11 of the region’s 19 entrants enter into the process of securing berths in the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship.

    Those places will be earned through the inaugural Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Women’s Caribbean Cup.  Each of the five first-round winners and the two teams with the best runner-up records will advance to the Caribbean final round, where they will join host Trinidad & Tobago for an eight-team tournament, August 19-26.

    The pair of sides that ultimately vie for the Caribbean title -- as well as the winner of the match for third place -- will advance to the CONCACAF event, which is scheduled to be played in the United States.

    The top three teams to emerge from the Confederation competition will qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada.  The fourth-place team will contest a playoff with a South American rival with another World Cup ticket at stake.

    Antigua, Puerto Rico and Turks & Caicos will each host one of five first-round groups, May 23-27, while Haiti (May 30-June 3) and the Dominican Republic (June 18-22) will welcome the remaining quartets.

    Four years ago, Guyana, Haiti and Trinidad & Tobago represented the Caribbean at the CONCACAF finals in Cancun, Mexico.


    GROUP 1 (at St. John’s, Antigua & Barbuda – Antigua Recreation Grounds)

    Friday – May 23, 2014

    Aruba v St. Vincent & the Grenadines

    Antigua & Barbuda v U.S. Virgin Islands


    Sunday – May 25, 2014

    St. Vincent & the Grenadines v U.S. Virgin Islands

    Antigua & Barbuda v Aruba


    Tuesday – May 27, 2014

    U.S. Virgin Islands v Aruba

    Antigua & Barbuda v St. Vincent & the Grenadines

    GROUP 2 (at Bayamon, Puerto Rico – Estadio Juan Ramon Loubriel)

    Friday – May 23, 2014

    Martinique v Barbados

    Sunday – May 25, 2014

    Puerto Rico v Barbados

    Tuesday – May 27, 2014

    Puerto Rico v Martinique

     GROUP 3 (at Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands – TCIFA National Academy)

    Friday – May 23, 2014

    Cayman Islands v St. Kitts & Nevis

    Turks & Caicos Islands v Bermuda

    Sunday – May 25, 2014

    Bermuda v Cayman Islands

    Turks & Caicos Islands v St. Kitts & Nevis


    Tuesday – May 27, 2014

    St. Kitts & Nevis v Bermuda

    Turks & Caicos v Cayman Islands

    GROUP 4 (at Mirebalais, Haiti – Park Bayas)

    Friday – May 30, 2014

    Cuba v Suriname

    Haiti v Guadeloupe

    Sunday – June 1, 2014

    Guadeloupe v Cuba

    Haiti v Suriname

    Tuesday – June 3, 2014

    Suriname v Guadeloupe

    Haiti v Cuba

    GROUP 5 (at San Cristobal, Dominican Republic – Estadio Panamericano)

    Wednesday – June 18, 2014

    Jamaica v St. Lucia

    Dominican Republic v Anguilla

    Friday – June 20, 2014

    Anguilla v Jamaica

    Dominican Republic v St. Lucia

    Sunday – June 22, 2014

    St. Lucia v Anguilla

    Dominican Republic v Jamaica


  • Champions League

    Related News


Lloyd, U.S. work toward Women’s World Cup Qualifying

Carli Lloyd isn't worried about the recent form of the United States women's national team.

Costa Rica, Cruz work towards another Women’s World Cup

If Costa Rica has any plans on making a second straight appearance in the FIFA Women’s World Cup, Shirley Cruz will have to play a big role in making that happen.

Dunn nets five, U.S. tops Puerto Rico

Crystal Dunn scored five goals to spark the United States to a 10-0 victory over Puerto Rico and secure the Group A crown in the 2016 CWPQ

Costa Rica’s Rodriguez Cedeño ready for next step

In addition to doing her best on the field, Raquel Rodriguez Cedeño has another important duty.

U.S. to host four-team women’s tournament

U.S. Soccer will hold an elite, four-team international tournament featuring four of the top five ranked women's national teams in the world as England, France and Germany join the United States for the SheBelieves Cup to be held from March 3-9, 2016