• Sunday Jun 02, 2013

    Women's U-20 WC host cities revealed

    TORONTO -- Edmonton, Moncton, Montreal and Toronto were named as the Host Cities for the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup in Canada and the Official Emblem of the tournament was unveiled on Sunday at the occasion of the women's friendly between Canada and the United States.

    "It's a great pleasure to include Toronto in the official Host Cities for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014 together with Edmonton, Moncton and Montreal, which will also be part of the coast-to-coast adventure for 2015," commented Tatjana Haenni, FIFA's Deputy Director of Competitions for Women's Football, "Host Cities are one of our biggest sources of support when it comes to promoting the competition."

    This marks the kick-off of the seventh edition of the biennial FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup, one of two FIFA women's youth tournaments being played ahead of the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015™. The inaugural edition of this competition was played in Canada in 2002 (then known as the FIFA U-19 Women's World Championship). The most recent edition was played in Japan, where CONCACAF members USA were crowned for a third time (2002, 2008 and 2012).

    "The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014 is another great opportunity for our country and the four Host Cities to welcome the world and the world's game," said Victor Montagliani, chairman of the National Organizing Committee. "This competition serves as a terrific showcase for the future stars of women's football, with the best often proving that they are ready for the big competition just one year later.

    Earlier this year, the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 official match schedule was announced, with 52 matches to be played in six venues from coast to coast across Canada, including three of the four venues of the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014.

  • Champions League

    Related News

    no results