• Friday May 16, 2014

    United States to Host CONCACAF Women’s Championship on Road to World Cup Canada 2015

    Canada (pictured) celebrates after winning the 2010 CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifying tournament in Cancun, Mexico. (Photo: Mexsport)

    MIAMI (May 16, 2014) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced that the United States will host the CONCACAF Women’s Championship 2014, which also serves as the finals of the Confederation’s qualifying tournament for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015.
    A record 31 nations from across the region have indicated interest in participating in the preliminary qualifying process, from which eight teams will emerge to play in the CONCACAF Women’s Championship 2014, to be played in the U.S. in the fall of 2014. Venues and exact dates of that event will be announced in the near future.
    “Given our region’s historically outstanding results in women’s competition, CONCACAF is proud to call itself the world’s home of women’s football,” said Confederation President Jeffrey Webb. “Today, we have further evidence of that, in the record number of potential entrants seeking to join Canada -- host of next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup -- at the Finals in 2015.”
    “The number of teams set to participate in our regional qualification process demonstrates the growth of the women’s game across the Confederation – especially in the Caribbean and Central America,” said Webb. “We know we have some of the strongest women’s teams in the world right here in CONCACAF, in two-time world champion United States, along with Canada and Mexico. We are looking forward to seeing some of our other Member Associations join those illustrious ranks very soon.”
    CONCACAF’s qualifying tournament will award three direct tickets to the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015. A fourth CONCACAF team will reach a playoff with a South American rival, with yet another World Cup ticket on the line.
    “We at CONCACAF couldn’t be more pleased to see our Member Association, Canada, set to host the largest edition ever of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, as the tournament expands to 24 nations in 2015,” said Webb. “We know Canada is prepared to put on a great show, both later this year for the FIFA Women’s Under-20 World Cup and next year for the World Cup. Taking into account also the successful FIFA Women’s Under-17 World Cup recently completed Costa Rica, there’s no doubt that CONCACAF has earned the title of ‘Women’s World Cup Central.’” 
    CONCACAF Member Association Costa Rica hosted the FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup during March and April, commencing a period of just over one year during which the CONCACAF region will host all three of FIFA Women’s World Cup events.

  • Champions League

    Related News


Lloyd, U.S. work toward Women’s World Cup Qualifying

Carli Lloyd isn't worried about the recent form of the United States women's national team.

Costa Rica, Cruz work towards another Women’s World Cup

If Costa Rica has any plans on making a second straight appearance in the FIFA Women’s World Cup, Shirley Cruz will have to play a big role in making that happen.

Dunn nets five, U.S. tops Puerto Rico

Crystal Dunn scored five goals to spark the United States to a 10-0 victory over Puerto Rico and secure the Group A crown in the 2016 CWPQ

Costa Rica’s Rodriguez Cedeño ready for next step

In addition to doing her best on the field, Raquel Rodriguez Cedeño has another important duty.

U.S. to host four-team women’s tournament

U.S. Soccer will hold an elite, four-team international tournament featuring four of the top five ranked women's national teams in the world as England, France and Germany join the United States for the SheBelieves Cup to be held from March 3-9, 2016