• Friday Jun 14, 2013

    U.S. women, Wambach to face Korea Republic

    By Michael Lewis

    FOXBOROUGH, Massachusetts – Abby Wambach continues her quest to surpass Mia Hamm as the all-time women's goal-scorer as the United States prepares to host the Korea Republic twice in six days.  They will met at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts, on Saturday, and then again on June 20 in Harrison, New Jersey.

    Wambach, the 2012 FIFA women's world player of the year, enters the match with 155 goals, three shy of the 158 netted by Hamm, who retired in 2004.

     The U.S. is coming off a rematch of the legendary 2012 London Olympics semifinal against Canada in Toronto on June 2.  Wambach did not score in the recent encounter, but assisted on two tallies in a 3-0 win.

     The 33-year-old striker last netted in a 3-3 draw at Germany on April 5.  In the 109 games in which she has scored at least one goal, the U.S. has a record of 99 wins, eight draws and only two losses.

     The Americans are riding a 32-game unbeaten streak since their last loss, which came to Japan, 1-0, at the Algarve Cup in Portugal on March 5, 2012.




    v Korea Republic (June 15 & 20, 2013)

    Goalkeepers: Nicole Barnhart (FC Kansas City), Jill Loyden (Sky Blue FC), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign)

    Defenders: Rachel Buehler (Portland Thorns FC), Crystal Dunn (University of North Carolina), Whitney Engen (Liverpool/England), Meghan Klingenberg (Tyresö/Sweden), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)

    Midfielders: Yael Averbuch (Göteborg/Sweden), Morgan Brian (University of Virginia), Lauren Cheney (FC Kansas City), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Western NY Flash), Kristie Mewis (FC Kansas City), Heather O'Reilly (Boston Breakers), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign)

    Forwards: Sydney Leroux (Boston Breakers), Alex Morgan (Portland Thorns FC), Christen Press (Tyresö/Sweden), Abby Wambach (Western NY Flash)



    Goalkeepers: Kim Jungmi (Hyundai Steel), Yoon Younggeul (Suwon FMC) 

    Defenders: Kim Jihye (Sports Toto), Jeong Younga (Seoul City), Shim Seoyeon (Goyang Daekyo), Lim Seonjoo (Hyundai Steel), Kim Hyeri (Seoul City)

    Midfielders: Lee Sejin (Hyundai Steel), Lee Eunhye (Goyang Daekyo), Cho Sohyun (Hyundai Steel), Lee Jangmi (Sports Toto), Lee Mina (Hyundai Steel), Kwon Hahnul (Busan Sangmu), Kim Narae (Suwon FMC), Park Heeyoung (Sports Toto), 19-Shin Jiyoung (Seoul City), Lee Jungeun (Hanyang Women's University)

    Forwards: Park Heeyoung (KSPO), Ji Soyun (Kobe INAC/Japan), Yoo Younga (Busan Sangmu), Kim Sangeun (KSPO), Jeoun EunhaF (KSPO)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Ticket Lottery Details Announced for CONCACAF Cup Match between USA and Mexico on October 10 at the Rose Bowl

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced details for the ticketing process to be implemented for the CONCACAF Cup, which is being presented by Scotiabank – the FIFA Confederations Cup playoff match between the United States and Mexico on Saturday, October 10, at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA (6 pm PT).

CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Ten Metropolitan Areas from Across the United States Selected to Host Copa America Centenario

Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Seattle Will Host Games for the 100-Year Anniversary Edition of the South American Championship

Ticket Purchase Lottery Opens September 9 for CONCACAF Cup

Fans can register at www.CONCACAF.com for opportunity to purchase tickets

Final 23-Player Rosters for CONCACAF Cup 2015 Chosen by Mexico and United States

Both teams name final lists for October 10 match at Pasadena’s Rose Bowl