• Tuesday Dec 03, 2013

    U.S. women open camp Tuesday

    Alex Morgan (#13) is one of 31 players invited to participate in the final United States women's national team training camp of the year, starting December 3, 2013, in Carson, California.  (Photo courtesy of the Canadian Soccer Association)


    CHICAGO – The United States women’s national team will conclude the year with a training camp that opens Tuesday and runs through December 15 at U.S. Soccer’s National Training Center in Carson, California.

    Head coach Tom Sermanni has called in 31 players, including nearly all the regulars with exception of a few recovering from injuries and Megan Rapinoe, who was not released by her French club Lyon. 

    The camp will also mark the return of 2012 Olympic gold medalists Amy Rodriguez and Amy LePeilbert, neither of whom have been part of the team this year.  Rodriguez had a son in early August, while LePeilbet is in the final stages of her recovery from ACL surgery.

    Two of the USA’s four college players called up – defender Crystal Dunn from North Carolina and midfielder Morgan Brian from Virginia – are still involved with the annual college women’s football tournament and will participate as their match and academic schedules allow. 

    Brian, as well as fellow camp attendees Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, Hope Solo, Sydney Leroux and Christie Rampone, is a finalist for the first-ever CONCACAF Women’s Player of the Year award.

    Three players coming from Germany’s Bayern Munich – midfielders Amber Brooks and Erika Tymrak and uncapped forward Sarah Hagen – will not arrive into camp until December 9.

    The U.S. completed its 2013 schedule unbeaten, going 13-3-0.


    U.S. Women’s National Team Roster

    (Training Camp: December 3-15, 2013)

    GOALKEEPERS:  Nicole Barnhart (FC Kansas City), Brittany Cameron (Sky Blue FC), Adrianna Franch (Western New York Flash), Jill Loyden (Sky Blue FC), Alyssa Naeher (Boston Breakers), Abby Smith (University of Texas), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

    DEFENDERS:  Rachel Buehler (Portland Thorns FC), Stephanie Cox (Seattle Reign FC), Crystal Dunn (University of North Carolina), Whitney Engen (no club), Meghan Klingenberg (no club), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Amy LePeilbet (Chicago Red Stars), Kristie Mewis (Boston Breakers), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)

    MIDFIELDERS:  Yael Averbuch (no club), Morgan Brian (University of Virginia), Amber Brooks (Bayern Munich/Germany), Lauren Holiday (FC Kansas City), Julie Johnston (Santa Clara University), Carli Lloyd (Western New York Flash), Heather O’Reilly (Boston Breakers), Erika Tymrak (Bayern Munich/Germany)

    FORWARDS:  Sarah Hagen (Bayern Munich/Germany), Sydney Leroux (Seattle Reign FC), Alex Morgan (Portland Thorns FC), Christen Press (no club), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (Western New York Flash)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Ticket Lottery Details Announced for CONCACAF Cup Match between USA and Mexico on October 10 at the Rose Bowl

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced details for the ticketing process to be implemented for the CONCACAF Cup, which is being presented by Scotiabank – the FIFA Confederations Cup playoff match between the United States and Mexico on Saturday, October 10, at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA (6 pm PT).

CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Ten Metropolitan Areas from Across the United States Selected to Host Copa America Centenario

Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Seattle Will Host Games for the 100-Year Anniversary Edition of the South American Championship

Ticket Purchase Lottery Opens September 9 for CONCACAF Cup

Fans can register at www.CONCACAF.com for opportunity to purchase tickets

Mexico wins CONCACAF Cup, qualifies for Confederations Cup

Paul Aguilar scored in the 118th minute to give Mexico a 3-2 victory over the United States in the CONCACAF Cup on Saturday night, earning the Tricolor berth at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia.