• Friday Jan 03, 2014

    U.S. names WC preparation camp roster

     Shane O'Neill (left), a U.S. under-20 standout in 2013, was called up to the senior squad for a January 6-February 1, 2014, training camp. (Photo: Mexsport)

    CHICAGO – United States head coach Jurgen Klinsmann called in 26 players Friday for his first FIFA World Cup preparation camp of 2014.

    The camp, which runs January 6-February 1, will be conducted on two continents.  After six days in Carson, California, a 23-player group will travel to Sao Paulo, Brazil, from January 13-25 for a dry run ahead of this summer’s tournament.  The team will then return to Carson and prepare for a February 1 friendly against Korea Republic at StubHub Center.

    The roster contains 10 competitors from the successful 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign, as well as nine others looking to earn their first international caps.

    “We are all very excited for this camp because, as a team, it will give us our first taste of Brazil,” said Klinsmann.  “This is a very important camp in our preparations for the World Cup.  It’s important for the players to continue developing their bond and sense of urgency for the tournament.  It’s important for us to see how they do in Brazil, how the new players fit with the group and to make sure everyone is focused on reaching the highest level for next summer.”

    Forward Landon Donovan, who won the Golden Ball at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup, is the most veteran player in the squad with 154 caps.  After the 32-year-old LA Galaxy star, D.C. United’s Eddie Johnson is the most experienced with 61 career caps and 19 goals.

    Also earning roster places are Luis Gil, Shane O’Neill and DeAndre Yedlin, who were all members of the 2013 U.S. U-20 World Cup team.  During the tournament in Turkey, Gil scored against Spain and O’Neill against Ghana.

    Chicago Fire forward Mike Magee, Major League Soccer’s MVP in 2013, was given an opportunity to win his first cap at 29-years-old.



    (Training Camp: January 6-February 1, 2014, & Friendly: February 1, 2014, home v Korea Republic)

    GOALKEEPERS:  Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

    DEFENDERS:  Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Harrington (Portland Timbers), Chris Klute (Colorado Rapids), Chance Myers (Sporting Kansas City), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Seth Sinovic (Sporting Kansas City), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders)

    MIDFIELDERS:  Eric Alexander (New York Red Bulls), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg/Norway), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

    FORWARDS:  Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Mike Magee (Chicago Fire), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Costa Rica int’l Navas injured

In a statement released Friday, Real Madrid announced that goalkeeper Keylor Navas has been diagnosed with an injury to his right adductor muscle and that his recovery will be monitored.

CONCACAF hosts 2026 World Cup joint-bid press conference

Following its XXIV Extraordinary Congress in Manama, Bahrain, on Wednesday, CONCACAF held a press conference in support of the joint proposal by three of its Member Associations – Canada, Mexico and the United States – to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

Zambrano, Canada already looking forward to 2026

If Canada does get the nod to help organize the 2026 FIFA World Cup as part of a joint bid with the United States and Mexico, head coach Octavio Zambrano realizes his squad will face a great responsibility.

Tradition -- CONCACAF nations welcome the world

On Monday, the United States, Canada and Mexico announced their intention to submit a unified bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

USA, Canada & Mexico declare intention to submit unified bid to host 2026 FIFA World Cup

The United States, Canada and Mexico today declared their intention to submit formally a unified bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.