• Thursday Nov 21, 2013

    U.S., Canada to meet in January women’s friendly

    Alex Morgan celebrates after scoring against host Canada in the CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying tournament final on January 29, 2012, in Vancouver. (Photo: Mexsport)


    CHICAGO -- The United States women’s national team will kick-off 2014 with a match against Canada on January 31 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, it was announced on Thursday. 

    The CONCACAF powers met once this year, a 3-0 victory for the Americans at BMO Field in Toronto.  Alex Morgan scored twice and Sydney Leroux netted once in a winning effort. 

    “It’s great to start the year with a game that is going to be a real test for us and a game that is always highly competitive,” said U.S. head coach Tom Sermanni.  “It’s a friendly game, but one that’s meaningful for both teams, and it’s an excellent first match in a year that will end with World Cup qualifying.

    “In 2014, it will be important to play as many quality opponents as possible.” 

    This will be the third appearance for the U.S. women at Toyota Stadium, and the second match there against the Canadians.  On February 11, 2012, a crowd of 20,677 saw Morgan score two late goals in a 2-1 victory over New Zealand.  The USA defeated Canada at the venue, 6-2, in May 2007.


  • Champions League

    Related News


CONCACAF Champions League Announces 2013-14 Schedule

Twenty-Four Teams set to Compete for Regional Club Championship Starting August 6.

2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Quarterfinals Set

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the official pairings and kick-off times of Quarterfinal matches in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

US vs Mexico Gold Cup 2011 Championship Final

United States vs Mexico Gold Cup 2011 Championship Final

USA vs Panama Final Highlights

USA vs Panama Final Highlights

Final 2013 Gold Cup rosters revealed

CONCACAF unveiled today the final rosters submitted by the National Teams participating in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.