• Monday Oct 27, 2014

    Trinidad, Ecuador WWC playoff dates confirmed

    Trinidad & Tobago's Mariah Shade (#3) celebrates after scoring against Mexico in the third place match of the CONCACAF Women's Championship on October 26, 2014, in Chester, Pennsylvania, USA. (Photo: Mexsport)

    MIAMI – CONCACAF confirmed Monday the schedule for Trinidad & Tobago’s participation in the intercontinental play-in series, which will qualify an additional team to the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015.

    The Trinidadians, by virtue of their fourth-place finish in the recently concluded CONCACAF Women’s Championship USA 2014, has qualified for the playoff and will take on the South American Football Confederation’s third-place finisher, Ecuador, in a home-and-away playoff beginning November 8 in South America. 

    The first of the two-game series, an aggregate goal matchup administered by FIFA, will take place at the Estadio Olimpico Atahualpa in Quito, kicking off at 2 PM local time (2 PM EST) on November 8.  The return leg is scheduled to be played on December 2 in Trinidad & Tobago.
    The winner of the series will earn one of the three remaining available World Cup berths.  Twenty-one finalists are confirmed, including an all-time high of four teams from CONCACAF.
    CONCACAF Women’s Championship champion United States – Women’s World Cup champion in 1991 and 1999 -- has qualified for its seventh consecutive Women’s World Cup, while CONCACAF runner-up Costa Rica will debut.  The two CONCACAF Women’s Championship finalists will be joined in Canada by third-place CONCACAF Championship finisher Mexico.
    World Cup host Canada also has its spot assured in the tournament. Trinidad & Tobago will increase the number to five CONCACAF representatives, if it emerges victorious from the series versus Ecuador.
    The draw for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 will take place on December 6, in the National Capital Region of Ottawa-Gatineau.


  • Champions League

    Related News


Costa Rica women’s roster named for Mexico friendly

Costa Rica head coach Amelia Valverde announced Wednesday a 26-player roster for a women’s international friendly against visiting Mexico on November 25 at the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Ayma.

U.S. women eye 2018 and beyond

After calling in 55 players since the 2016 Olympic Games, United States women's head coach Jill Ellis is ready to put together a team that will qualify for and win the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup.

Canada, U.S. tussle to stalemate

The United States and host Canada battled to a 1-1 draw in the first of a two-match women’s international friendly series on Thursday night in front of a capacity crowd 28,017 at BC Place.

Canada, U.S. women renew rivalry Thursday

The Canada women's national team has finished ahead of the United States twice in major international competitions, capturing the 2010 CONCACAF Women’s Championship title and earning a bronze medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

Lloyd, U.S. work toward Women’s World Cup Qualifying

Carli Lloyd isn't worried about the recent form of the United States women's national team.