• Tuesday Apr 11, 2017

    Tradition -- CONCACAF nations welcome the world

    The United States (pictured) won the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada, the last time a CONCACAF nation has hosted a World Cup of any kind. (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)

    NEW YORK – On Monday, the United States, Canada and Mexico announced their intention to submit a unified bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

     CONCACAF member associations have a long, proud and successful history of hosting World Cups for all genders, age groups and versions of the sport.

     Later this month, the Bahamas will be the site for the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, marking the 17th time that a CONCACAF-affiliated nation will organize a World Cup event.

     Here’s a look at the previous World Cups in CONCACAF by nation:

     CANADA (5)

    - FIFA U-16 World Championship (1987)

    - FIFA U-19 Women's World Cup (2002)

    - FIFA U-20 World Cup (2007)

    - FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup (2014)

    - FIFA Women's World Cup (2015)

     MEXICO (4)

    - FIFA World Cup (1970, 1986)

    - FIFA U-20 World Cup (1983)

    - FIFA U-17 World Cup (2011)

     USA (3)

    - FIFA World Cup (1994)

    - FIFA Women's World Cup (1999, 2003)


    - FIFA U-17 World Cup (2001)

    - FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (2010)

     COSTA RICA (1)

    - FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (2014)

     GUATEMALA (1)

    - FIFA Futsal World Cup (2000)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Alanis pleased to be back with Mexico

As the Mexico players left the Alamodome locker room after Wednesday's 1-0 win over Bosnia and Herzegovina, Oswaldo Alanis had perhaps the most relieved look among his teammates.

Costa Rica to meet Scotland, Tunisia in March friendlies

Costa Rica will travel to Europe for a pair of international friendlies, facing host Scotland on March 23.

Costa Rica to face England in friendly

Costa Rica will face host England in a pre-World Cup friendly on June 7, 2018, the Federación Costarricense de Fútbol announced Wednesday.

Costa Rica int’l Umaña returns to Cartagines

Costa Rica international Michael Umaña has returned to Cartagines, the three-time Costa Rican champion announced Monday.

Panama int’l Stephens leaves Chorrillo FC for Santa Clara

Recently-crowned Panamanian champion Chorrillo FC announced that forward Alfredo Stephens is leaving the club for Portugal’s Santa Clara.