• Wednesday Jun 28, 2017

    Toronto FC qualifies for Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League

    Toronto FC players and staff (pictured) celebrate after prevailing over the Impact de Montreal in the 2017 Canadian Championship final to qualify for the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)

    TORONTO – Toronto FC earned a berth in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League with a dramatic 2-1 win over 10-man Impact de Montreal Impact in the second leg of the 2017 Canadian Championship final (agg: 3-2) before 26,559 fans at BMO Field on Tuesday night.

    On the heels of a 1-1 draw in the first leg, Sebastian Giovinco scored twice for the host, which captured its second straight title in the competition and sixth overall.

    Giovinco netted the game-winner in the fifth minute of stoppage time, when he slotted home from the edge of the six-yard off a feed from the left side of the box by Raheem Edwards.  The goal came five minutes after Montreal’s Patrice Bernier was ejected.

    The Impact went ahead 1-0 in the 36th minute through Ballou Tabla.  The 18-year-old received Blerim Dzemaili’s short pass and took a pair of touches, before curling in a left-footed shot from 21-yards out.

    In the 54th minute, Giovinco leveled at 1-1, snapping a 14-yard, left-footed effort inside the near-right post beyond diving goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau.

    Giovinco won the 2017 George Gross Memorial Trophy as the competition’s most valuable player.

    2017 Amway Canadian Championship – Final, Second Leg

    June 27, 2016: BMO Stadium – Toronto, Canada (A: 26,559)

    Toronto FC-Impact de Montreal 2-1 (0-1)

    Sebastian Giovinco 54’, 90’+5 / Ballou Tabla 36’

    Toronto FC wins 2017 Canadian Championship (agg: 3-2)

    Toronto FC: Clint Irwin; Chris Mavinga, Drew Moor, Eriq Zavaleta, Raheem Edwards, Jonathan Osorio (Marco Delgado 46’), Michael Bradley, Victor Vazquez, Steven Beitashour, Tosaint Ricketts (Jozy Altidore 46’), Sebastian Giovinco. Head Coach: Greg Vanney

    Impact de Montreal: Maxime Crepeau; Kyle Fisher, Victor Cabrera (Wandrille Lefevre 90’+1), Laurent Ciman, Hassoun Camara; Hernan Bernardello, Patrice Bernier, Ballou Tabla, Blerim Dzemaili, Ignacio Piatti (Dominic Oduro 79’), Matteo Mancosu. Head Coach: Mauro Biello


    List of Champions

    2008: Impact de Montreal

    2009: Toronto FC

    2010: Toronto FC

    2011: Toronto FC

    2012: Toronto FC

    2013: Impact de Montreal

    2014: Impact de Montreal

    2015: Vancouver Whitecaps FC

    2016: Toronto FC

    2017: Toronto FC

  • Champions League

    Related News


T&T int’l Boatswain joins Alajuelense

Alajuelense announced Tuesday the signing of Trinidad & Tobago international Jamille Boatswain on a reported two-year contract.

Palacios prepping Plaza Amador for Apertura, CONCACAF League

With its 2017 Panamanian Apertura opener slightly more than two weeks away, head coach Jair Palacios is preparing Plaza Amador for what could be busy domestic and international campaigns.

CONCACAF Announces Schedule of Round of 16 Matchups for 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) unveiled today dates and kickoff times for the Round of 16 schedule for the 2017 edition of the Scotiabank CONCACAF League.

Panama int’l Dixon joins Aguila

Panama international Richard Dixon has signed a two-year deal with Aguila, the Salvadoran club announced Monday.

Portmore United excited for Scotiabank CONCACAF League

Thanks to a third-place finish in the 2017 Caribbean Club Championship, Portmore United earned the right to become the first team from Jamaica to compete in the Scotiabank CONCACAF League.