• Sunday Dec 10, 2017

    Toronto FC captures MLS Cup title

    Toronto FC players and staff (pictured) celebrate after defeating Seattle Sounders FC in the MLS Cup final on December 9, 2017, in Toronto, Canada. (Photo: Andy Mead/isiphotos.com)

    TORONTO – A pair of second-half goals earned Toronto FC a 2-0 victory over visiting Seattle Sounders FC in the MLS Cup final on Saturday night in front of 30,584 fans at BMO Field.

    The triumph – in a rematch of the 2016 decider -- capped a memorable year for Toronto FC, which also won the MLS Supporters’ Shield as the team with the best regular-season record and the Canadian Championship.

    A battle between two teams that will compete in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, saw Jozy Altidore snap a scoreless draw in the 67th minute.  The United States international latched onto a pass from Sebastian Giovinco, raced into the penalty area and placed a shot over a diving goalkeeper Stefan Frei 

    It was the first goal that Seattle had conceded in this year's playoffs.

    Four minutes into stoppage time, Vazquez sealed the game by slotting home into an empty net off a rebound of a shot that Panama international Armando Cooper drilled off the right post.

    Until Altidore's goal, Frei was magnificent, making several spectacular saves to keep Seattle within striking distance.

    He parried Giovinco's hard shot over the crossbar in the 23rd minute, thwarted Marco Delgado with a two-handed save by Marco Delgado in the 35th minute and produced a sprawling stop on a Vazquez attempt in the 41st minute.

    Toronto FC is the first Canadian team to capture the MLS title since the league started in 1996.

    2017 MLS Cup Final

    December 9, 2017: BMO Field – Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Att: 30,584)

    Toronto FC-Seattle Sounders FC 2-0 (0-0)

    Jozy Altidore 67'; Victor Vazquez 90'+4

    Toronto FC: Alexander Bono; Steven Beitashour, Drew Moor, Chris Mavinga, Justin Morrow; Michael Bradley, Marco Delgado (Benoit Cheyrou 90+3'), Jonathan Osorio (Armando Cooper 85'), Victor Vazquez; Sebastian Giovinco, Jozy Altidore (Nick Hagglund 86'). Head Coach: Greg Vanney

    Seattle Sounders FC: Stefan Frei; Kelvin Leerdam, Roman Torres, Chad Marshall, Joevin Jones (Nouhou 90+1'); Cristian Roldan, Gustav Svensson, Nicolas Lodeiro, Clint Dempsey, Victor Rodriguez (Jordan Morris 71'); Will Bruin. Head Coach: Brian Schmetzer

    R: Allen Chapman; AR1: Adam Wienckowski; AR2: Jeremy Hanson; 4th: Kevin Stott

  • Champions League

    Related News


Real Esteli, Olivas to part ways

Real Esteli announced Wednesday that head coach Otoniel Olivas will leave the club at the end of the 2018 Nicaraguan Clausura.

Tigres, Santa Tecla: home unbeaten streaks at a glance

If there is one mantra in which all coaches from across the CONCACAF region believe, it is the importance of defending home soil.

Club Tijuana looks to defense as Monterrey clash nears

Unbeaten after two games to start the 2018 Liga MX Clausura (1W-1D-0L, 4 points), Club Tijuana is the only team yet to concede a goal.

Herediano signs Mexico’s Arellano

Herediano announced Sunday the signing the signing of Mexican striker Omar Arellano to a one-year contract.

Tigres’ Sosa on beating Santos: “An important win for what’s ahead”

Current Liga MX Apertura champion Tigres collected its first win of the 2018 Apertura with a 2-1 home triumph over Santos on Saturday night.