• Thursday Jul 17, 2014

    Schedule Announced for CCA 2014

    Tickets for Official UNCAF Tournament on sale to the general public this Tuesday, July 22

    GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala (Thursday, July 17, 2014) – The Central American Football Union (UNCAF) today announced the groups, schedule and ticket information for the Central American Cup 2014 USA, to be played September 3-13 in the United States. 

    The Central American Cup, which will be played on U.S. soil for the first time in its 13 editions, will provide berths to the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup and the 2016 Centennial Cup America. 

    Tickets to all matches will go on sale to the general public on Tuesday, July 22, at 10:00 a.m. local on http://www.concacaf.com/tickets and at all stadium box offices. 

    The two-group, seven-team tournament will kick off Sept. 3 at RFK Stadium in Washington D.C. with a tripleheader involving both groups, featuring 2014 FIFA World Cup quarterfinalist Costa Rica taking on Nicaragua, Honduras facing Belize, and closing out with El Salvador - Guatemala.

    The Central American Cup 2014 USA then moves on to Dallas’ Cotton Bowl on September 7 and Houston’s BBVA Compass Stadium on September 10. The full schedule is below. The championship game, as well as the third- and fifth-place matches, will be played on Saturday, September 13, at the historic Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

    The Central American Cup will decide the four automatic UNCAF berths for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. The fifth-place finisher will earn the right to participate in a two-leg playoff against the fifth-place team from the 2014 Caribbean Football Union Caribbean Cup for an additional Gold Cup berth.

    In addition, the champion of the Central American Cup 2014 USA will earn a direct ticket to the recently-announced Centennial Cup America 2016, also to be played in the United States.
Costa Rica is the current Central American Cup champion, and has lifted the trophy a record seven times.  Honduras is next with three titles, while Guatemala and Panama have won one apiece.  Belize, El Salvador and Nicaragua complete the field of seven Central American nations. 
The Central American Cup has been contested 12 previous times, starting in 1991. Costa Rica and Honduras have hosted it three times each, while it has been played in El Salvador, Guatemala and Panama twice.
The event’s Organizing Committee is headed by CONCACAF and Soccer United Marketing. Sponsorship rights are being managed jointly by Imagina USA and Traffic USA.

    2014 Central American Cup Groups 
    *teams listed in alphabetical order

    Group A Group B
    Costa Rica Belize
    Nicaragua El Salvador
    Panama Guatemala
    2014 Central American Cup Schedule
    - All times are Eastern - 

    Wednesday, September 3, 2014 – RFK Stadium, Washington D.C.
    5:00pm                 Costa Rica vs. Nicaragua
    7:00pm                 Honduras vs. Belize
    9:00pm                 El Salvador vs. Guatemala
    Sunday, September 7, 2014 – Cotton Bowl, Dallas, TX
    5:00pm                 Costa Rica vs. Panama
    7:00pm                 Guatemala vs. Belize
    9:00pm                 Honduras vs. El Salvador
    Wednesday, September 10, 2014 – BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston, TX
    6:00pm                 Panama vs. Nicaragua
    8:00pm                 El Salvador vs. Belize
    10:00pm               Honduras vs. Guatemala
    Saturday, September 13, 2014 – Memorial Coliseum, Los Angeles, CA
    4:00pm                 Third Place Group A vs. Third Place Group B
    7:00pm                 Second Place Group A vs. Second Place Group B
    10:00pm               First Place Group A vs. First Place Group B

  • Champions League

    Related News


Group Seeds and Game Dates Announced for 2016 Copa America Centenario 

Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and the United States Head the Four Groups in the Tournament; Seeded Nations to Visit Nine of the Ten Host Markets in Group Play

CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Ten Metropolitan Areas from Across the United States Selected to Host Copa America Centenario

Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Seattle Will Host Games for the 100-Year Anniversary Edition of the South American Championship

CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, and US Soccer Confirm USA as Host for Copa America Centenario

Enhanced governance, transparency, and accountability measures adopted to ensure sound management of tournament operations and finances

Mexico vs Honduras Highlights

Mexico vs Honduras Highlights