• Friday Aug 17, 2007

    Quarterfinal line-ups now set in Central American qualification

    CD Motagua of Honduras, Guatemalan outfit CSD Municipal and the Costa Rican team Puntarenas all booked their places in the quarter finals of the Torneo Interclubes de UNCAF following second leg opening round action last night.

    CD Motagua beat Real Esteli of Nicaragua 3:1, winning the two leg tie 5:1 on aggregate. CSD Municipal also defeated Nicaraguan opposition running out 6:0 victors against Real Madriz (8:0 on aggregate).

    In the other game, FC Belize held the winners of last year's tournament, Puntarenas, to a 0:0 draw. The Costa Rican team qualified for the last eight, however, thanks to their 3:0 victory in the first leg.

    With the opening round of the Torneo Interclubes de UNCAF in the books the quarter final line-ups are now set.

    Puntarenas and Deportivo Saprissa will square off in an all-Costa Rican affair. Two time CONCACAF Champions' Cup™ winners LD Alajuelense will play Real Espana of Honduras. Guatemalan sides Xelaju MC and CSD Municipal, winners of the Champions' Cup in 1974, play each other for a place in the last four while in the final encounter CD Motagua match up against San Francisco FC of Panama.

    First-leg ties will be played 18-20 September with the second legs of the quarterfinals set for 25-27 September.

    The two finalists, which qualify directly to the 2008 CONCACAF Champions' Cup™, will compete for the Torneo Interclubes de UNCAF 2007 crown later this year, while the two losing semifinalists will play a home-and-away third-place series for the last Central American berth to the CONCACAF event.

    The three Central American clubs will be joined by defending champion Pachuca CF (MEX), another Mexican side, two teams from USA along with one from the Caribbean at the 2008 CONCACAF Champions' Cup™.

    In addition to becoming the CONCACAF Champion, the winner will also have the chance to play as the CONCACAF representative against the world's best teams in the 2008 FIFA Club World Cup, while the Champions' Cup runner-up will be one of the three CONCACAF invitees to the 2008 Copa Nissan Sudamerican.

    The CONCACAF Champions Cup™ is the longest running international club competition in the region and has crowned the champion club of the Confederation since its inception in 1962.

    2008 CONCACAF CHAMPIONS' CUP™ - Central American Qualification
    First Round
    Series A
    16.08.2007: Belize City, BELIZE; MCC Grounds
    FC Belize: Carlos Slusher - Shanon Edman Flowers, John Alexander Smith, Mark Anthony Leslie, Deon Lincoln McCaulay (75: Cristóbal Gilharry), Paul Eugene Nuñez, Tyrone George Young (73: Mark Anthony Zuniga), Jeremy James, Ian Elvis Gaynair, Thedran Reid (58: Vallan Dennis Simms), Albert Edward Thurton. Booked: Smith 41', Leslie 57', Nunez 67', Gaynair 83'
    Puntarenas FC: Shane Orio - Sherman Vasquez, Greivin Portuguez, Rafael Nuñez, Randy Cubero (68: Jose Macotelo), Rafael Rodriguez, Rashit Gomez, Alvaro Guerrero (82: Allan Aleman), Rodolfo Arnaez, Emmanuel Campos, Jose Guillermo Garro. R: Juan Carlos GUERRA (GUA)
    Puntarenas FC wins 3:0 on aggregate

    Series F
    16.08.2007: Ciudad de Guatemala, GUATEMALA; Estadio Mateo Flores (A: 2500)
    Selyn PONCIANO 4'; Carlos ASPRILLA 22'; Mario ACEVEDO 40'; Manuel LEON 61'; Marwin MARROQUIN 74'; Marco PAPA 84'
    CSD Municipal: Rony Alvarez - Jaime Dario Vides, Henry Alexander Medina, Claudio Josué Albizuris (45: Renato Blanco), Mario Giovany Acevedo, Selvyn Estuardo Ponciano (78: Sergio Guevara), Manuel Antonio Leon, Marvin Tomas Avila (62: Marco Papa), Carlos Figueroa. Booked: Acevedo 58', Leon 61'
    Real Madriz FC: Santiago Irias - Máximo Arturo Gamez, Mario José Morales, Juan Pablo Pauth, Miguel Angel Sanchez, Bernard Antonio Pineda (45: Pedro Suarez), Jairo Edel Sosa, Norlan Francisco Salgado (69: Jairo Benavidez), Eder Otoniel Benavidez, Pedro Alonso Alfaro (45: Oscar Barahona), Jaime Jeronimo Crisanto. Booked: Suarez 76'
    CSD Municipal wins 8:0 on aggregate

    Series G
    16.08.2007: Tegucigalpa, HONDURAS; Estadio Tiburcio Carias Andino
    CD MOTAGUA (HON) - REAL ESTELI (NCA) 3:1 (2:0)
    Fernando CASTILLO 30'; Oscar TORLACOFF 45'; Luis RODAS 54' - Ricardo VEGA 86'
    CD Motagua: Donaldo Morales - Steven Bryce, Oscar Torlacoff (62: Jefferson Bernerdez), Jose Luis Grant, Fernando Castillo, Osman Danilo Chavez, Amado Guevara (45: Jose Carlos Rivera), Emilio Arturo Izaguirre, Victor Bernardez, Luis Rodas, Jorge Aaron Claros (45: Walter Nahun Lopez). Booked: Izaguirre 63'
    Real Esteli: Carlos Mendieta - Jaime Ruiz, Juan Pablo Chacon (84: Juan Carlos Vilchez), Ricardo Antonio Vega, David Martinez (55: Santos Martinez), Hugo Silva, Elmer Antonio Mejia, Sergio Ivan Rodriguez, Franklin Lopez, Marvin Molina, Felix Zeledon (45: Francisco Lopez). Booked: Vega 37', Lopez 64'
    R: Elmer BONILLA (SLV)
    CD Motagua wins 5:1 on aggregate



    Third Place


  • Champions League

    Related News


Real Esteli, Olivas to part ways

Real Esteli announced Wednesday that head coach Otoniel Olivas will leave the club at the end of the 2018 Nicaraguan Clausura.

Tigres, Santa Tecla: home unbeaten streaks at a glance

If there is one mantra in which all coaches from across the CONCACAF region believe, it is the importance of defending home soil.

Club Tijuana looks to defense as Monterrey clash nears

Unbeaten after two games to start the 2018 Liga MX Clausura (1W-1D-0L, 4 points), Club Tijuana is the only team yet to concede a goal.

Herediano signs Mexico’s Arellano

Herediano announced Sunday the signing the signing of Mexican striker Omar Arellano to a one-year contract.

Tigres’ Sosa on beating Santos: “An important win for what’s ahead”

Current Liga MX Apertura champion Tigres collected its first win of the 2018 Apertura with a 2-1 home triumph over Santos on Saturday night.