• Saturday May 10, 2008

    Puerto Rico Islanders take first-leg of Caribbean Playoff

    The Puerto Rico Islanders took the first-leg of the CFU (Caribbean Football Union) Qualification Playoff to the 2008-09 CONCACAF Champions League™ after a 1:0 win over visiting San Juan Jabloteh of Trinidad & Tobago at the Estadio Juan Ramón Loubriel in Bayamón on Friday.

    The only goal of the match was scored by the Islanders' Fabrice Noel in the ninth minute. Both teams will meet again in the second-leg on 25 May in Trinidad & Tobago.

    The winner of the CFU Playoff will join Harbour View FC of Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago's Joe Public FC as the Caribbean Representatives to the inaugural CONCACAF Champions League™ this coming August.

    The Caribbean playoff participants lost in the semifinals of the CFU Club Championship against Joe Public and Harbour View, respectively, last year. Harbour View went on to claim the CFU Title by defeating Joe Public in the final.

    Caribbean Qualification
    09.05.2008: Bayamón, PUERTO RICO; Estadio Juan Ramón Loubriel (A: 1600)
    Fabrice NOEL 9'
    Puerto Rico Islanders: Williams Guadette - Daniel Ojeda, John Krause, Nigel Henry, Scott Jones, Noah Delgado-C, Edwin Miranda, Osel Telesford (79: Sandy Gbandi), Andres Cabrero (59: Petter Villegas), Fabrice Noel (75: Kendall Jagdeosingh), Taiwo Atieno. Booked: Atieno 10', Telesford 28', Noel 30', Villegas 61', Sent offs: Atieno 84'
    TD: Colin CLARKE
    San Juan Jabloteh: Daurance Williams - Elton John, Sheldon Bateau, Robert Primus, Noel Williams, Elijah Manners (80: Karlon Murray), Trent Noel-C, Lester Peltier, Gason Gregory, Jason Cudjoe (71: , Peter Byers. TD: Terry FENWICK
    R: Courtney CAMPBELL (JAM)

    25.05.2008: Couva, TRINIDAD & TOBAGO; Ato Boldon Stadium (18:00)

    Photo #1 from Joaquín Hernández/PR Islanders FC
    Photo #2 from Juan ángel Alicea

  • Champions League

    Related News


Mendoza making most of chance at Club Tijuana

After a long tenure in Mexico City, you could forgive Omar Mendoza for needing time to adapt to his new surroundings at Club Tijuana.

SCCL 2018: Five young footballers to watch

The old saying in football is that if a player is good enough, then he is old enough.

Martin thrives at Club America

Needless to say, Henry Martin has taken to his new surroundings at Club America quite nicely.

CCC2018 Video: W Connection’s Charles-Fevrier reacts to setback, looks to future

W Connection head coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier talks with CONCACAF.com about his team’s elimination from the 2018 Caribbean Club Championship (CCC) after falling to Atletico Pantoja on Sunday and looks ahead to the domestic season.

Schmetzer has Seattle Sounders FC thinking SCCL

Brian Schmetzer makes no bones about it.