• Monday May 04, 2015

    Panamanian Clausura semifinals set

    CA Independiente (pictured) celebrates after scoring against Tauro FC in a Liga Cable Onda LPF Clausura game on May 2, 2015, in Panama City, Panama. (Photo courtesy of Liga Cable Onda LPF)

    PANAMA CITY, Panama – A new champion will be crowned in Panama as the Clausura’s regular season ended on Saturday with 2014 Apertura winner San Francisco (6W-7D-5L, 25 points) falling just short of a place in the final four.

    The Monjes lost 1-0 to bottom Atletico Chiriqui (4W-5D-9L, 17 points) , leaving them a point behind fourth-place CA Independiente (7W-5D-6L, 26 points), which will be relegated to the second tier after accumulating the least total points over the two tournaments.

    Independiente (35 combined points) needed to defeat Tauro FC (5W-7D-6L, 22 points) in the final week to avoid the drop.  Although a 3-3 draw guaranteed a semifinal berth, it wasn’t enough to assure top-flight status for next season.  Instead, Chiriqui (36 points) will keep its spot in the Liga Cable Onda LPF.

    Pairings for the two-legged semifinals are (home team for second leg listed first):

    Sporting San Miguelito (30 points) v CA Independiente (26 points)

    • 1st leg: May 15, 2015, at Estadio Agustin ‘Muquita’ Sanchez
    • 2nd leg: May 23, 2015, at Estadio Rommel Fernandez

     Arabe Unido (29 points) v Plaza Amador (28 points)

    • 1st leg: May 16, 2015, at Estadio Maracana
    • 2nd leg: May 22, 2015, at Estadio Armando Dely Valdes

     The winner of the final will join San Francisco as Panama’s representatives in the 2015/16 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League.


  • Champions League

    Related News


Real Esteli, Olivas to part ways

Real Esteli announced Wednesday that head coach Otoniel Olivas will leave the club at the end of the 2018 Nicaraguan Clausura.

Tigres, Santa Tecla: home unbeaten streaks at a glance

If there is one mantra in which all coaches from across the CONCACAF region believe, it is the importance of defending home soil.

Club Tijuana looks to defense as Monterrey clash nears

Unbeaten after two games to start the 2018 Liga MX Clausura (1W-1D-0L, 4 points), Club Tijuana is the only team yet to concede a goal.

Herediano signs Mexico’s Arellano

Herediano announced Sunday the signing the signing of Mexican striker Omar Arellano to a one-year contract.

Tigres’ Sosa on beating Santos: “An important win for what’s ahead”

Current Liga MX Apertura champion Tigres collected its first win of the 2018 Apertura with a 2-1 home triumph over Santos on Saturday night.