• Thursday Apr 27, 2017

    Pachuca’s Blanco grasps SCCL Golden Glove

    Alfonso Blanco receives the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Golden Glove award after helping Pachuca to the SCCL title on April 26, 2017, in Pachuca, Mexico. (Photo: Straffon Tmages)

    PACHUCA, Mexico – Alfonso Blanco was named winner of the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League’s Golden Glove award after helping Pachuca to its fifth CONCACAF title on Wednesday, prevailing over Tigres 2-1 on aggregate.

    The 29-year-old played in every minute of the Tuzos’ 10 games, allowing eight goals and posting six shutouts.

    He is the fourth Mexican to take home the prize in the five times it has been presented.

    Golden Glove winners

    2008/09 - 2011/12: not awarded
    2012/13: Oswaldo Sanchez, Santos
    2013/14: Alfredo Talavera, Toluca
    2014/15: Evan Bush, Impact de Montreal
    2015/16: Hugo Gonzalez, Club America
    2016/17: Alfonso Blanco, Pachuca

  • Champions League

    Related News


Pachuca falls narrowly to Gremio in FCWC semifinals

Second-half substitute Everton scored early in extra time and Gremio earned a 1-0 win over Pachuca in the 2017 FIFA Club World Cup (FCWC) semifinals on Tuesday at Hazza Bin Zayed Stadium.

Pachuca aims for Club World Cup history

When the opening whistle launches the 2017 FIFA Club World Cup semifinal between Pachuca and Gremio on Tuesday at Hazza Bin Zayed Stadium, it will mark the eighth time the CONCACAF champion has contested a final-four match in the competition.

Pachuca prepared for Gremio clash at Club World Cup

Pachuca is clearly motivated by the prospect of facing South American champion Gremio on Tuesday in the 2017 FIFA Club World Cup (FCWC) semifinals.

CONCACAF Weekend’s Best (December 11, 2017)

CONCACAF.com takes a look at the best performances and most interesting stories in CONCACAF Weekend’s Best.

Tigres lifts Liga MX Apertura trophy

Tigres rallied to earn a 2-1 win over host Monterrey in the second leg of their 2017 Liga MX Apertura final on Sunday night to capture the series 3-2 on aggregate.