• Friday Feb 07, 2014

    NWSL unveils 2014 schedule

    Players from the Seattle Reign celebrate after scoring against the Washington Spirit on May 16, 2013, in Tukwila, Washington. (Photo courtesy of the National Women's Soccer League)

    CHICAGO -- The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) announced Friday the complete 2014 regular season schedule, which kicks off on Saturday, April 12. 

    Four teams will see action on opening day as the Houston Dash – in its inaugural match – welcomes defending champion Portland Thorns FC, while FC Kansas City takes on visiting Sky Blue FC.  On the following day, Seattle Reign FC entertains the Boston Breakers and NWSL Shield winner Western New York Flash travels to face the Washington Spirit.  On April 19, the host Chicago Red Stars will open the curtain on their season against Western New York.

    Each of the league's nine clubs will play a total of 24 games (12 home and 12 away) during a 19-week span.

    The regular season will conclude the weekend of August 16-17 with eight of the nine clubs in action during the final two days of the campaign.  Leading up to the regular season finale, every team will host at least one game in August and no team will travel outside of its own time zone during the season's final week.

    The top four teams will qualify for the NWSL playoffs and compete in the semifinals on August 23-24.  The NWSL will crown its 2014 champion after the final on weekend of August 30-31.

     The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) is a nine-team Division-I women's professional soccer league featuring national team players from Canada, Mexico and the U.S.  The nine clubs are: Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit and Western New York Flash. 

    Based in Chicago, the NWSL is supported by the Canadian Soccer Association, Mexican Football Federation and the United States Soccer Federation.

    For a complete league schedule, please click here.

  • Champions League

    Related News


U.S. names U-20 roster for Toulon

U.S. Under-20 Men's National Team head coach Tab Ramos has named a 22-player roster for the 2013 Toulon Tournament in France, May 28 - June 8.

2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League Quarterfinals Schedule Set

Eight teams will battle for a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup Morocco 2014

Schedule Announced for CCA 2014

Tickets for Official UNCAF Tournament on sale to the general public this Tuesday, July 22

Cayman Islands Set to Host 2014 CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship in January

Three Additional Teams from the Region will Join Host Canada at the 2014 Under-20 Women’s World Cup

CONCACAF Champions League 2014-15 Television Schedule

Television Schedule for CCL 2014-15 Group Stage