• Saturday Aug 11, 2012

    Mexico & the U.S. - Olympic Champions!

    When journalists, fans, players and coaches put into perspective the Olympic-sized achievements of the United States women and Mexico men in London, the similarities between the gold medalists will quickly become evident.Their remarkable quantities of determination, dedication, skill and desire were on exhibit for the entire world to appreciate.

    For CONCACAF, though, the 2012 Olympic Football Tournaments proved to be extraordinary as well…it is the first time in Olympic history that two teams from the same confederation won gold in men's and women's football.

    Additionally, of the six football medals available in London, CONCACAF teams brought home three (Canada defeated France 1-0 for bronze in women's football on Thursday).

    CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb, was delighted with the results.

    "I want to congratulate each of CONCACAF's representatives at the Olympics and especially our gold medal winners from the United States and Mexico," said Webb, following the men's final."They, along with the bronze-medal winning Canadian women and the quarterfinalist Honduran men, performed brilliantly."

    "CONCACAF is the confederation of Olympic champions."

    Men's and women's football have been contested in the same Olympics on five occasions, starting in 1996.

    The U.S. women have captured gold four times (including three straight), while in 22 previous editions of the men's tournament (according to FIFA records, the first official competition was held in 1908 in London) no team from CONCACAF had ever finished first; that is, until Mexico made its mark on Saturday.

    For the U.S. women, occupying the highest position on the Olympic podium has become familiar, but never taken for granted.The climb has always been challenging.

    "We put so much of ourselves in this," said US forward Abby Wambach, describing what it takes to become a champion once again. "We sacrificed our families and friends.

    "This means everything to us."

    Mexico can add this title to the others it has attained at the FIFA level: 2011 FIFA U-17 World Cup, 2005 FIFA U-17 World Cup and the 1999 FIFA Confederations Cup.

    Head coach Luis Fernando Tena framed his team's accomplishment elegantly: "We've learnt to always show Mexico in the best possible light, as well as believing we can win. And that's what happened. There's been an attitude change in Mexican football. Today we've set the bar very high for the next generations. The level of expectation is going to get higher and higher."

    And nobody would want it any other way.

    Congratulations, to the United States, Canada, Mexico and Honduras…and thanks for the wonderful journey.

  • Champions League

    Related News


Mexico announces U23 mini-camp roster

One day after learning its opponents in the 2016 Olympic Football Tournament, Mexico announced that 26 under-23 players have been invited to a mini-camp from April 17-20 at the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol’s High Performance Center

CONCACAF sides discover Olympic opposition

CONCACAF teams learned their opponents and groups Thursday when the official draw for the 2016 Summer Olympics was held at the Estadio Maracana, which will also be the host of both finals.

Colombia overcomes U.S. for Rio 2016 berth

Roger Martinez scored a goal in each half and Colombia defeated the United States 2-1 in the second leg of their Olympic Qualifying playoff on Tuesday at Toyota Stadium.

U.S. U23s secure key draw in Colombia

The United States held off a relentless Colombia attack for a 1-1 draw in the first leg of an Olympic qualifying playoff at the Estadio Metropolitano Roberto Melendez on Friday.

U.S. roster picked for Olympic qualifying playoff

The United States named Saturday a 23-player roster for its upcoming two-legged Olympic qualifying playoff against Colombia, which will determine the final berth at Rio 2016.