• Friday Jul 11, 2014

    Honduras U20s aim for next World Cup

    The Honduras under-20 national team (pictured) will compete in a Central American under-20 qualifying tournament, July 17-29, 2014, in El Salvador.

    TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras -- Honduras did not qualify for the 2013 FIFA U-20 World Cup, but it does not want to miss the next one in New Zealand.  As a result, preparations for the Central American under-20 qualifying tournament – to be played July 17-29 in El Salvador – have been intense and thorough.

    This year’s squad, which started training together three months ago, contains nine players from the side that advanced to the quarterfinals of the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup.

    "Having nine players who were at the last U-17 World Cup will be very important to achieve the goal of qualifying for another U-20 World Cup,” Honduras head coach Jorge Jimenez told CONCACAF.com.  "To those nine players in the United Arab Emirates, we’ve added Junior Lacayo, who will play this year in the first division of Liga MX with Santos and greatly improved when he was in the Santos under-20 team."

    Those World Cup performers mentioned by Jimenez are: goalkeeper Christian Hernandez (Motagua), defenders Kevin Alvarez (Olimpia), Luis Santos (Olimpia), midfielders Rembrandt Flores (Olimpia), Devron Garcia (Victoria), Kevin Lopez (Motagua) and Fredy Medina (Atletico Choloma), plus forwards Jorge Bodden (Valencia CF) and Alberth Elis (Olimpia).

    Medina, Bodden and Flores each scored at least one goal at the World Cup.

    In addition to utilizing the talents of those with previous World Cup experience, Jimenez has enlisted the services of Honduran football legend Carlos Pavon.

    The 40-year-old -- Honduras’ all-time leading scorer with 51 goals in 101 appearances -- will work with the forwards.

    "With Pavon Plummer’s presence in the coaching staff, the youngsters will feel confident that they are working with a star and a man who knows his work in the field,” said Jimenez.  “Also, he can transmit his experience as a player to them, which is a great help to us.”

    Honduras has participated in five U-20 World Cups (1977, 1995, 1999, 2005, 2009), but Pavon did not participate in any despite his long and successful career.

    The Catrachos will open the UNCAF tournament on July 17 against Panama at the Estadio Cuscatlan in San Salvador.  For Jimenez, the first three games are key to securing qualification for the 2014 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, a tournament that will decide the Confederation’s World Cup representatives.

    "Winning or not losing in the first three games will ensure that we qualify for the next round,” he stressed.  “It is unfortunate that we can only take 18 players to the competition, but we are still confident and everything.  We look for the championship"


    2014 Central American Under-20 Qualifying Schedule

    San Salvador & Santa Tecla, El Salvador

    • July 17: Panama
    • July 19: Costa Rica
    • July 21: El Salvador
    • July 23: Guatemala
    • July 25: Belize
    • July 29: Nicaragua


  • Champions League

    Related News


Costa Rica Named Host for 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced that Costa Rica will host the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, scheduled for February 17 to March 5, 2017.

Serbia outlasts U.S. on PKs at U-20 World Cup

The United States bowed out of the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup on Sunday, falling 6-5 in a penalty kick shootout after playing Serbia to a 0-0 draw in the quarterfinals at North Harbour Stadium.

Ramos delighted with USA’s U-20 WC performance

Rubio Rubin’s second goal of the tournament and a huge performance by goalkeeper Zack Steffen helped lift 10-man United States to a 1-0 win over Colombia in a 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup, round of 16 encounter at Westpac Stadium on Wednesday.

U.S. beats Colombia, advances to U-20 WC quarters

Goalkeeper Zack Steffen made a save on a penalty kick late in the game to preserve a shutout and help lift the United States to a 1-0 win over Colombia on Wednesday in a FIFA

Honduras eliminated from U-20 World Cup

Germany completed Group F play in the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup with a perfect 3-0-0 record, defeating Honduras 5-1 on Sunday at AMI Stadium.