• Thursday May 25, 2017

    History on Motagua’s side in Honduran final

    Motagua players (pictured) celebrate after scoring against host Honduras Progreso in the Honduran Clausura final, first-leg match on May 20, 2017, in El Progreso, Honduras.

    TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras – After earning a win over Honduras Progreso last weekend, Motagua is just 90 minutes away from claiming a 15th Honduran title. It can do so on Sunday, when the sides meet in the second leg of the 2017 Clausura final at the Estadio Tiburcio Carias Andino.


    Motagua defeated host Honduras Progreso, 4-1, in the first leg on Saturday. After Franklin Morales (25’) gave Honduras a 1-0 lead, the visitor responded with four unanswered goals from three players: Marco Tulio Vega (31’, 90’+4), Erick Andino (63’) and Carlos Discua (69’).

    Motagua can win the title with a win, draw or a defeat in which Honduras Progreso do not win by three goals or more while also scoring at least four goals.


    In addition to its advantage from the first leg, history is also on Motagua’s side. The Ciclon Azul is unbeaten in its last six meetings with Honduras Progreso in Tegucigalpa (4W-2D-0L; 14GF, 6GA).


    Motagua has peaked at the right time, going unbeaten in its last 13 matches (8W-5D-0L). Its last loss came against Real Sociedad on February 19 (4-0).


    Motagua captured the 2016 Apertura crown and, even if Honduras Progreso lifts the Clausura trophy, it will compete in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League by virtue of having the best combined regular-season record of the season’s champions.


    Motagua midfielder Erick Andino: “It’s beautiful to see a completely full stadium. Hopefully that is repeated this Sunday. We rely on a very passionate fan base.”

  • Champions League

    Related News


T&T int’l Boatswain joins Alajuelense

Alajuelense announced Tuesday the signing of Trinidad & Tobago international Jamille Boatswain on a reported two-year contract.

Palacios prepping Plaza Amador for Apertura, CONCACAF League

With its 2017 Panamanian Apertura opener slightly more than two weeks away, head coach Jair Palacios is preparing Plaza Amador for what could be busy domestic and international campaigns.

Toronto FC qualifies for Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League

Toronto FC earned a berth in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League with a 2-1 win over 10-man Impact de Montreal Impact in the second leg of the 2017 Canadian Championship final (agg: 3-2) Tuesday night.

CONCACAF Announces Schedule of Round of 16 Matchups for 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) unveiled today dates and kickoff times for the Round of 16 schedule for the 2017 edition of the Scotiabank CONCACAF League.

Panama int’l Dixon joins Aguila

Panama international Richard Dixon has signed a two-year deal with Aguila, the Salvadoran club announced Monday.