• Friday May 09, 2014

    Herrera reveals Mexico’s World Cup roster

    Mexico head coach Miguel Herrera displays the document that lists Mexico's 2014 FIFA World Cup roster on May 9, 2014. (Photo: Mexsport)

    MEXICO CITY – Mexico head coach Miguel Herrera announced Friday the 23-man roster for the upcoming 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

    The squad is boosted by the inclusion of numerous competitors from the last two Liga MX champions.

    2013 Clausura winner Club America, which Herrera guided to the title, is well represented with five players. 

    Leon, the 2013 Apertura winner, is sending four, including Rafael Marquez.  The 35-year-old defender is hoping to make his fourth finals appearance, after playing in 12 games over the previous three World Cups.

    Two players from newly-crowned CONCACAF Champions League champion Cruz Azul were chosen: goalkeeper Jesus Corona and attacker Marco Fabian. 

    Also earning selection is Oribe Peralta, the 2013 CONCACAF Player of the Year.  The Santos forward, 30, was the Tricolor’s top scorer in qualifying with 10 goals.  He is best remembered for netting five times in the 9-3 aggregate triumph over New Zealand in the CONCACAF/Oceania Intercontinental Playoff that earned Mexico a place at Brazil 2014. 

    Prior to travelling to South America, the six-time CONCACAF Gold Cup champions will play friendlies against Israel (May 28 at Mexico City), Ecuador (May 31 at Arlington, Texas, USA), Bosnia & Herzegovina (June 3 at Chicago) and Portugal (June 6, Foxborough, Massachusetts, USA). 

    All available players are expected to report to training on May 12 at the Mexican Football Federation’s High Performance Center.


    (as of May 9, 2014) 

    GOALKEEPERS:  Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Guillermo Ochoa (AC Ajaccio/France), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca) 

    DEFENDERS:  Paul Aguilar (Club America), Andres Guardado (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany), Miguel Layun (Club America), Hector Moreno (Espanyol/Spain), Diego Reyes (FC Porto/Portugal), Francisco Javier Rodríguez (Club America), Rafael Marquez (Leon), Carlos Salcido (Tigres)

    MIDFIELDERS:  Isaac Brizuela (Toluca), Marco Fabian (Cruz Azul), Hector Herrera (FC Porto/Portugal), Juan Carlos Medina (Club America), Luis Montes (Leon), Carlos Peña (Leon), Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon)

    FORWARDS:  Giovani Dos Santos (Villarreal/Spain), Javier Hernandez (Manchester United/England), Raul Jimenez (Club America), Oribe Peralta (Santos), Alan Pulido (Tigres) 

  • Champions League

    Related News


Tickets for the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship on Sale Later This Month

The Confederation of North, Central America and the Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) and the Local Organizing Committee, US Soccer, announced today that tickets for the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship, which will be played in the United States from October 1-13, will go on sale later this month. Venues in four different cities will each host two doubleheaders.

CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Group Seeds and Game Dates Announced for 2016 Copa America Centenario 

Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and the United States Head the Four Groups in the Tournament; Seeded Nations to Visit Nine of the Ten Host Markets in Group Play

Ten Metropolitan Areas from Across the United States Selected to Host Copa America Centenario

Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Seattle Will Host Games for the 100-Year Anniversary Edition of the South American Championship

Ticket Purchase Lottery Opens September 9 for CONCACAF Cup

Fans can register at www.CONCACAF.com for opportunity to purchase tickets