• Thursday Aug 29, 2013

    Floro names squad for first Canada camp

    Kyle Bekker (pictured) is one of 33 players on Canada's roster for a training camp and a pair of friendlies against Mauritania, September 1-11, 2013, in Valencia, Spain. (Photo: Mexsport)

    OTTAWA – Canada head coach Benito Floro selected a 33-man squad on Wednesday for his first men’s national team camp, September 1-11, in Valencia, Spain.

    The gathering will feature two friendlies against Mauritania at the Oliva Nova Golf and Beach Resort.

    For Floro, the time spent in Spain will be an important first step in establishing a new tactical plan and getting to know his players.

    "This first camp is important for us as we want to achieve our tactical structure as soon as possible," he said.  "It will also be important to establish the relationship between the coaches and players."

    The Spaniard has opted to call-in a blend of youth and experience with many regulars returning to the fold.

    "For me, the age of the player is not necesarrily important," emphasized Floro.  "What is important is the tactical behavior of the player on the pitch and the level of the player's ability. I have brought in a number of young players because I like the level they are playing at - and if things progress well - we will be able to bring in more youth players in the coming years."

    Domestic-based players Samuel Adekugbe (Vancouver Whitecaps), Jackson Farmer (Vancouver Whitecaps) and Jérémy Gagnon-Laparé (Impact de Montreal) will all be taking part in their first senior camp after featuring at various youth levels.

    Dwayne De Rosario is the most experienced player on the roster with 73 caps.

    Canada did not advance past the Group Stage in July’s CONCACAF Gold Cup, losing to Martinique and Mexico, but playing eventual tournament runner-up Panama to a scoreless draw.


    (Training Camp: September 1-11, 2013, in Valencia, Spain)

    GOALKEEPERS: Milan Borjan (Sivasspor/Turkey), Lars Hirschfeld (Valerenga/Norway), Kenny Stamatopoulos (AIK/Sweden)

    DEFENDERS: Samuel Adekugbe (Vancouver Whitecaps), Marcel de Jong (Augsburg/Germany), David Edgar (Burnley/England), Jackson Farmer (Vancouver Whitecaps), Andres Fresenga (Racing Club de Montevideo/Uruguay), André Hainault (Aalen/Germany), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Dejan Jaković (D.C. United/USA), Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby/Sweden), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Adam Straith (Wehen Wiesbaden/Germany),

    MIDFIELDERS: Keven Aleman (Real Valladolid/Spain), Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Stefan Cebara (no club), Julian de Guzman (Skoda Xanthi/Greece), Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United/USA), Terry Dunfield (no club), Jérémy Gagnon-Laparé (Impact de Montreal), Daniel Haber (Apollon Limassol/Cyprus), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas/Turkey), Issey Nakajima-Farran (AEK Larnaca/Cyprus), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Pedro Pacheco (Santa Clara/Portugal), Samuel Piette (Fortuna Dusseldorf/Germany), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps)

    FORWARDS: Marcus Haber (Stevenage/England), Iain Hume (Preston North End/England), Simeon Jackson (Eintracht Braunschweig/Germany), Kyle Porter (D.C. United/USA), Tosaint Ricketts (Sandnes Ulf/Norway)

  • Champions League

    Related News


WCQ Recap: Third Round, Second Leg

On a night that saw Jamaica and Guatemala recover from first-leg deficits, the third round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup concluded Tuesday with six sides advancing to the first group stage.

Nicaragua’s Duarte: “We lacked for nothing”

Nicaragua was minutes away from booking a historic first trip to the group stage of a World Cup Qualifying cycle, when Simon Dawkins struck for visiting Jamaica, giving it a 2-0 win last Tuesday.

CU17 Women’s Championship logo unveiled in Grenada

Although the first ball won’t be kicked for more than four months, Grenada demonstrated its enthusiasm to host the 2016 CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship, unveiling the official tournament logo on Thursday at the Radisson Grenada Grand Beach Resort.

Mexico’s Aguilar on goal: Something you dream of

Paul Aguilar couldn’t resist. He sprinted in jubilation, taking a head-first dive near a Rose Bowl field board Saturday night.

Final 20-Player Rosters Announced for 2015 CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Championship

Tournament kicks off in Kansas City on October 1, Group B in Los Angeles the following day