• Wednesday Dec 20, 2017

    Ertz named 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year

    Chicago Red Stars and USA standout Julie Ertz (pictured) was named the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year on December 20, 2017. (Photo: isiphotos.com)

    CHICAGO.-  Julie Ertz has been voted the 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year, it was announced Wednesday.

    While known more for her play as a center back during the majority of her career, Ertz settled in nicely to the role of defensive midfielder in 2017, scoring four goals and registering three assists in 23 games for the Chicago Red Stars during the National Women’s Soccer League season. The 25-year-old appeared in 12 games for the United States (6 goals, 0 assists).

    "I want to give a big thanks to everyone who voted," said Ertz, who finished ahead of runner-up Megan Rapinoe. "This was a really unique year for me with a lot of different challenges, but it means so much to have the support of my husband, my family, my coaches and my teammates.”

    Ertz (nee Johnston) joined Lauren Holiday and Tobin Heath as the only players to be named both the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year and Young Female Player of the Year during their careers. She was the Young Female Player of the Year in 2012 when she captained the USA to the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup title and won the Bronze Ball as the third-best player in the tournament.

    All-Time Honorees

    1985: Sharon Remer
    1986: April Heinrichs
    1987: Carin Jennings
    1988: Joy Biefeld
    1989: April Heinrichs
    1990: Michelle Akers
    1991: Michelle Akers
    1992: Carin Gabarra
    1993: Kristine Lilly
    1994: Mia Hamm
    1995: Mia Hamm
    1996: Mia Hamm
    1997: Mia Hamm
    1998: Mia Hamm
    1999: Michelle Akers
    2000: Tiffeny Milbrett
    2001: Tiffeny Milbrett
    2002: Shannon MacMillan
    2003: Abby Wambach
    2004: Abby Wambach
    2005: Kristine Lilly
    2006: Kristine Lilly
    2007: Abby Wambach
    2008: Carli Lloyd
    2009: Hope Solo
    2010: Abby Wambach
    2011: Abby Wambach
    2012: Alex Morgan
    2013: Abby Wambach
    2014: Lauren Holiday
    2015: Carli Lloyd
    2016: Tobin Heath
    2017: Julie Ertz

  • Champions League

    Related News

    no results