• Wednesday Aug 27, 2003

    Draw for 2003 CONCACAF Champions Cup final to be held in Miami

    The draw to determine the order of the two-game 2003 CONCACAF Champions Cup final between the Mexican clubs CA Monarcas Morelia and Deportivo Toluca FC will be held on Thursday, 4 September; presided over by CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer at the Brickell Key Room, located in the fifth floor of the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Miami, Florida USA at 10:30.

    The dates for the two-game 2003 Champions Cup finals are slated for the 17 September and 8 October as this is the second consecutive year that the CONCACAF Champions Cup final is an all-Mexican affair. It also marks only the second time in the 41-year history of the event that clubs from the same country will square off in the final.

    Toluca has not won the CONCACAF title since 1968, while Morelia is playing in their second consecutive final in 2003 as they try to claim their first-ever Championship Cup title, after losing a heartbreaking 1:0 decision to Pachuca CF of Mexico for the 2002 crown.

    Toluca reached the 2003 final after defeating Club América (MEX) 5:4 on aggregate in the semifinal series in May, while Morelia advanced to this year's finale after eliminating CD Necaxa (MEX) 6:0 on aggregate.

    CONCACAF Champions Cup All-Time Winners
    Year - Winners
    1962 - Guadalajara (MEX)
    1963 - Racing (HAI)
    1967 - Alianza (SLV)
    1968 - Toluca (MEX)
    1969 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1970 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1971 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1972 - Olimpia (HON)
    1973 - Transvaal (SUR)
    1974 - Municipal (GUA)
    1976 - Atlético Español (MEX)
    1977 - Club América (MEX)
    1978 - Universidad de Guadalajara (MEX)
    1979 - Deportivo FAS (SLV)
    1980 - UNAM (MEX)
    1981 - Transvaal (SUR)
    1982 - UNAM (MEX)
    1983 - Altante (MEX)
    1984 - Violette (HAI)
    1985 - Defence Force (TRI)
    1986 - LD Alajuelense (CRC)
    1987 - Club América (MEX)
    1988 - Olimpia (HON)
    1989 - UNAM (MEX)
    1990 - Club América (MEX)
    1991 - Puebla (MEX)
    1992 - Club América (MEX)
    1993 - Saprissa (CRC)
    1994 - CS Cartaginés (CRC)
    1995 - Saprissa (CRC)
    1996 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1997 - Cruz Azul (MEX)
    1998 - D.C. United (USA)
    1999 - Necaxa (MEX)
    2000 - Los Angeles Galaxy (USA)
    2002 - Pachuca (MEX)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Real Esteli, Olivas to part ways

Real Esteli announced Wednesday that head coach Otoniel Olivas will leave the club at the end of the 2018 Nicaraguan Clausura.

Tigres, Santa Tecla: home unbeaten streaks at a glance

If there is one mantra in which all coaches from across the CONCACAF region believe, it is the importance of defending home soil.

Club Tijuana looks to defense as Monterrey clash nears

Unbeaten after two games to start the 2018 Liga MX Clausura (1W-1D-0L, 4 points), Club Tijuana is the only team yet to concede a goal.

Herediano signs Mexico’s Arellano

Herediano announced Sunday the signing the signing of Mexican striker Omar Arellano to a one-year contract.

Tigres’ Sosa on beating Santos: “An important win for what’s ahead”

Current Liga MX Apertura champion Tigres collected its first win of the 2018 Apertura with a 2-1 home triumph over Santos on Saturday night.