• Wednesday Mar 29, 2017

    Draw Determines Matchups for the Finals of the Caribbean Club Competition 2017

    MIAMI -- CONCACAF held Wednesday the draw for the 2017 Caribbean Club Championship finals that will be played at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago, from May 14-21.

    The competition's champion will qualify for the newly re-formatted Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, while the second-, third- and fourth-place clubs will participate in the Confederation’s newly launched club championship for Caribbean and Central American clubs that kicks off in August.

    The draw, which was conducted by CONCACAF's Director of Caribbean Football Horace Reid determined the groups and match schedule.

    Two-time defending champion and tournament host Central FC (Trinidad & Tobago) was seeded into Group A and will face Cibao FC (Dominican Republic) and Grenades FC (Antigua & Barbuda), while San Juan Jabloteh FC (Trinidad & Tobago) was sorted in Group B with Portmore United (Jamaica) and Racing FC (Haiti), in Group B.  

    For the draw, the seeded teams were placed in positions A1 and B1, while the other four qualified clubs were sorted one by one. First, the name of the club was pulled from Pot 1, followed by the position from Pot 2.

    Group A 
    Central FC (Trinidad & Tobago) 
    Cibao FC (Dominican Republic)
    Grenades FC (Antigua & Barbuda)

    Group B
    San Juan Jabloteh FC (Trinidad & Tobago)
    Portmore United FC (Jamaica
    Racing FC (Haiti)

    The Caribbean Club Championship has been contested annually since 1997 (with the exception of 1999 and 2008), when United Petrotrin of Trinidad & Tobago captured the inaugural title.  A champion has been crowned 16 times, with DirecTV W Connection, also of Trinidad & Tobago, lifting the trophy a record three times.

    Last year, Central FC defended its Caribbean title by prevailing over fellow Trinidadian side DirecTV W Connection in the final for the second straight year, 3-0.

    2017 Caribbean Club Champions Final Stage Schedule 
    *Local Time

    Sunday, May 14, 2017
    17:30 San Juan Jabloteh FC (TRI) v Racing FC (HAI)
    20:00 Central FC (TRI) v Grenades FC (ATG)

    Tuesday, May 16, 2017
    17:30 Portmore United FC (JAM) v Racing FC (HAI)
    20:00 Cibao FC (DOM) v Grenades FC (ATG)

    Thursday, May 18, 2017
    17:30 San Juan Jabloteh FC (TRI) v Portmore United FC (JAM)
    20:00 Central FC (TRI) v Cibao FC (DOM)

    Sunday, May 21, 2017 - 3rd Place Match & Final
    17:00 2nd Place Group A v 2nd Place Group B
    20:00 1st Place Group A v 1st Place Group A

  • Champions League

    Related News


Herrera returns to Club America as head coach

Club America announced Friday via its social media platforms that Miguel Herrera will return to the club as head coach.

Arabe Unido looks to claim another crown

Arabe Undo can complete a dream season on Saturday night, when it faces Tauro FC in the 207 Panamanian Clausura final at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez.

Ferretti says Tigres ready to meet Liga MX Clausura final challenge

Tigres head coach Ricardo Ferretti praised his team’s spirit in coming back from a 2-0 deficit to earn a 2-2 draw against visiting Guadalajara in the first leg of the Liga MX Clausura final Thursday night at the Estadio Universitario.

Gignac-led rally gives Tigres draw vs. Guadalajara in Liga MX Clausura final opener

France international Andre-Pierre Gignac scored twice late to help Tigres rally from a two-goal deficit and draw 2-2 with visiting Guadalajara.

History on Motagua’s side in Honduran final

After earning a win over Honduras Progreso last weekend, Motagua is just 90 minutes away from claiming a 15th Honduran title.