• Wednesday Dec 02, 2009

    Defending champ Canada to open U-20 Women's Championship against Costa Rica

    GUATEMALA CITY - Canada will face Costa Rica to open the CONCACF Under-20 Women's Championship while host Guatemala will play Cuba later on January 20 in the struggle to determine the confederation's three qualifiers for the World Cup.

    Trinidad & Tobago will open play for Group B the following day against Mexico, with the reigning world champion United States completing the first round of group matches against Jamaica immediately afterward.

    Group A resumes on January 22 with Cuba taking on defending champion Canada, and Guatemala playing Costa Rica. Mexico and Jamaica face off on January 23 with Trinidad playing the United States.

    Group play concludes with Costa Rica facing Cuba, and Guatemala playing Canada on January 24, while Jamaica faces Trinidad, and the United States confronting Mexico a day later.

    The group winners will play the runners-up from the opposite group on January 28, with the championship and third-place matches set for Saturday, January 30.

    The finalists and third-place winner will qualify for next year's World Cup in Germany July 13-August 1.

    Group A
    Costa Rica

    Group B
    United States
    Trinidad & Tobago

    (Kickoff times in U.S. Eastern; local kickoff times in parentheses)
    Wednesday, January 20
    Canada vs. Costa Rica, 3 p.m. (2 p.m.)
    Guatemala vs. Cuba, 5:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

    Thursday, January 21
    Trinidad & Tobago vs. Mexico, 3 p.m. (2 p.m.)
    Jamaica vs. United States, 5:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

    Friday, January 22
    Cuba vs. Canada, 3 p.m. (2 p.m.)
    Guatemala vs. Costa Rica, 5:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

    Saturday, January 23
    Mexico vs. Jamaica, 3 p.m. (2 p.m.)
    Trinidad & Tobago vs. United States, 5:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

    Sunday, January 24
    Costa Rica vs. Cuba 11 a.m. (10 a.m.)
    Guatemala vs. Canada, 1:30 p.m. (12:30 p.m.)

    Monday, January 25
    Jamaica vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 3 p.m. (2 p.m.)
    United States vs. Mexico, 5:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

    Thursday, January 28
    Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 2:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.)
    Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 5:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

    Saturday, January 30
    Third Place
    Semifinal losers, 2:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.)
    Semifinal winners, 5:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

  • Champions League

    Related News


For the Etiennes -- Derrick Jr. & Danielle -- Haiti success is about family

Prior to meeting Canada in the CONCACAF Women's Under-20 Championship match for third place on Sunday, Haiti midfielder Danielle Etienne received some advice from older brother Derrick Jr.

When history called, Haiti’s Jeudy said: “Oui”

Asked to put into words the raw emotion felt immediately after the final whistle that signified Haiti’s historic and dramatic 1-0 win over Canada in the third place match of the 2018 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship, Sherly Jeudy couldn’t help but let out a giggle.

CU20W Allstate Best Save of the Game

These were some of the Best Saves of the CONCACAF Women's Under-20 Tournament presented by Allstate. Which was your favorite?

TSG announces CU20W Best XI

Following completion of the 2018 CONCACAF under 20 women´s championship, the Technical Study Group announced the tournament’s Best XI.

Mexico takes home CU20W Fair Play Award presented by Scotiabank

In addition to winning the 2018 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship title on Sunday, Mexico earned the competition’s Fair Play Award.