• Wednesday Jun 11, 2014

    Costa Rica’s Valverde receives FIFA Order of Merit

    Maria Elena Valverde Coto (center) receives the FIFA Order of Merit from FIFA President Joseph Blatter (left) and CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb on June 10, 2014 in Sao Paulo. (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)

    SAO PAULO, Brazil -- Former Costa Rica national team player Maria Elena Valverde Coto was awarded the FIFA Order of Merit on Tuesday for her decades of service to the women's game.

    The honor was presented by FIFA President Joseph Blatter and CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb during a ceremony at the Opening of the 64th FIFA Congress in São Paulo

    Valverde, a true football pioneer, is best known for organizing the first women’s national team in Latin America and playing in the first official women’s club match in Costa Rica on March 26, 1950.

    At 86-years-old, she continues to promote women's football in Costa Rica.



  • Champions League

    Related News


2014 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana update

The Union of Central American Football (UNCAF) revealed Wednesday that the next UNCAF Copa Centroamericana

CONCACAF Announces 2015 Gold Cup Host Cities, Venues, Group Seeds and Group Stage Dates

Canada to host Gold Cup games for first time; holiday packages and exclusive presale offering now available

Mexico vs Panama Highlights

Mexico v Panama Highlights

Mexico vs Canada Highlights

Mexico vs Canada Highlights

U.S. names U-20 roster for Toulon

U.S. Under-20 Men's National Team head coach Tab Ramos has named a 22-player roster for the 2013 Toulon Tournament in France, May 28 - June 8.