• Friday Mar 04, 2011

    Costa Rica to host Women's U-17 World Cup

    ZURICH, Switzerland - Costa Rica will host the 2014 Women's U-17 World Cup, winning out over Ghana, Macedonia, Russia, United Arab Emirates and Uzbekistan.

    The FIFA Executive Committee announced its decision Thursday following its two-day meeting that also allocated berths for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

    "We are excited to host the FIFA Women's U-17 World Cup in 2014," Costa Rican Football Federation President Eduardo Li said. "It's an important project that will allow us, I'm convinced, to develop women's football in Costa Rica and also in Central America. "

    It is the second time the tournament will be played in the CONCACAF region, following Trinidad & Tobago staging the second edition of the quadrennial championship in 2010.

  • Champions League

    Related News


Caribbean U-17 Recap: Cuba remains perfect, Curacao gets first win

Cuba (2W-0D-0L, 6 points) remained perfect in the final round of Caribbean qualifying for the 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship with a 6-0 win over Guadeloupe (0-0-2, 0) in the first game of a Group B doubleheader on Tuesday at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Kuhlmann goals make difference for U.S. U17 women

At the 2013 CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship, the United States was eliminated from contention after falling to Mexico on penalty kicks after a 1-1 draw in the semifinals.

Raimondo resolve revived Canada’s U-17 WWC hopes

Canada realized something had to change in order to save its dream of competing in the next FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

Haiti U17 women set successful tone for future

It wasn’t the way Haiti wanted to its 2016 CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship (CU17W) journey to end.

TSG reveals CU17W Best XI, Awards

Following the United States’ 2-1 win over Mexico in the 2016 CU17W final on Sunday at the Grenada Athletics Stadium, the Technical Study Group announced the tournament’s Best XI and presented awards.