• Wednesday Nov 04, 2009

    Costa Rica, Panama seal places in Women's Gold Cup finals

    Costa Rica knocked off Panama in the battle of the unbeatens, but the two still ended with the two Central American berths available in the finals of the FC Women's Gold Cup finals after a busy weekend of qualifying matches.

    In the Caribbean Zone, Jamaica took a good first step in claiming one of that zone's three places still available with a 2:0 first leg victory against Haiti.

    Jackeline Alvarez scored two more goals to lead Costa Rica to a 4:1 victory against Panama, but Guatemala's 5:1 victory against El Salvador meant neither could pass Panama, giving the canaleras the second berth in the round-robin being contested at Estadio Cuscátlan in San Salvador. Costa Rica's victory gave them the zonal championship.

    Under the rules for the Central American Zone qualifying, head-to-head competition is the first criterion if teams are level on points. Panama defeated both Guatemala and El Salvador earlier in the competition, meaning they have already secured advancement with their six points from three matches. Guatemala has completed its four matches, obtaining six points as well, while El Salvador has three points from three matches heading into their final match Tuesday against Costa Rica.

    Shirley Bailon scored three goals, including a pair in the second half, as Guatemala ended the host country's dream of advancement.

    In Kingston, two goals in the first eight minutes gave Jamaica their first-leg advantage. Tamara Honeywell scored after just six minutes, Alicia James doubling the lead two minutes later, as Jamaica will carry a solid lead into the second leg in Port-au-Prince in two weeks time.

  • Champions League

    Related News


2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League Quarterfinals Schedule Set

Eight teams will battle for a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup Morocco 2014

Schedule Announced for CCA 2014

Tickets for Official UNCAF Tournament on sale to the general public this Tuesday, July 22

2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Groups and Schedule Announced

City of Philadelphia Awarded Final and Third Place Match

CONCACAF Announces Participants for Inaugural Under-15 Championship

Twenty-two Nations from across the Region Set to Take Part in Initiative to Develop Youth Football throughout CONCACAF.

Final Rosters for 2013 Gold Cup Set

Player Lists Finalized after Deadlines for Injury Player Substitutions are Closed