• Saturday Nov 11, 2006

    CONCACAF teams to compete at 2006 FIFA U-20 Women's Championship

    Canada, Mexico and USA will carry the CONCACAF banner at the FIFA U-20 Women's World Championship Russia 2006 that will run from 17 August - 3 September.

    Under the Organizing Committee Chairmanship of CONCACAF General Secretary, Chuck Blazer, the 16-team tournament has four groups of four teams in the opening round with the top two advancing to the knock-out stage.

    Canada are coming into this year's FIFA tournament in an effort to match or surpass their runners-up position at the inaugural World Championship (then U-19) in 2002.

    Making their third appearance at the FIFA event, the maple leafs will compete in Group B at the Moscow's Podmoskovie and Torpedo Stadiums along with Asian winner China, European rival Finland and African champion Nigeria.

    Mexico, who are the first Spanish-speaking nation to have qualified for the FIFA women's competitions (Women's World Cup - 1999, U-19 World Championship - 2002, Olympic Games - 2004), claimed the final CONCACAF into the 2006 FIFA Tournament.

    The tricolor find themselves in Group C in Moscow's Dynamo Stadium with European opponent Switzerland, Asia's Korea DPR and the defending champion Germany.

    The USA have qualified for the two previous FIFA U-19 World Championships, capturing the title in Canada 2002 and then finishing third at the 2004 event in Thailand.

    The stars & stripes are in Group D in Dynamo and Torpedo Stadiums joining Argentina from South America, France and Congo DR.

    Rounding out the tournament are Australia, Brazil, New Zealand and the host Russia in Group A.

    The quarterfinals are scheduled for 26-27 August in Torpedo Stadium and St. Petersburg's Petrovksy Stadium, while the semifinals are set for 31 August at Lokomotiv Stadium in Moscow. The third-place encounter and championship match will take place on 3 September at Lokomotiv Stadium.

    CONCACAF Rosters
    GK: Jaclyn Dunnett (Vancouver Whitecaps), Stephanie Labbe (University of Connecticut/USA), Erin McNulty (Ottawa Fury);
    DF: Vonya Beckles (Toronto Lynx), Eden Hingwing (Vancouver Whitecaps), Sari Raber (University of Nebraska/USA), Katie Radchuck (University of Connecticut/USA), Desiree Scott (University of Manitoba), Sophie Schmidt (Vancouver Whitecaps), Caroline Vanderpool (Louisiana State University/USA), Emily Zurrer (Vancouver Whitecaps);
    MD: Paige Adams (Vancouver Whitecaps), Amanda Cicchini (University of Virginia/USA), Kaylyn Kyle (Vancouver Whitecaps), Loredana Riverso (University of Purdue/USA);
    AT: Taryne Boudreau (Vancouver Whitecaps), Lisa Collison (Ohio State University/USA), Selenia Iacchelli (University of Nebraska/USA), Aysha Jamani (University of Nebraska/USA), Jodi-Ann Robinson (Vancouver Whitecaps), Rheanne Sleiman (Vancover Whitecaps).
    TD: Ian BRIDGE

    GK: Ivette Esqueda (Santa Anita SC/USA), Anjuli Ladron (Chivas Guadalajara), Erika Vanegas (Guerreras);
    DF: Marisol Arevalo (Ventura College/USA), Janelly Farias (Inland United SC/USA), Maria de Lourdes Gordillo (Mexico FC), Nancy Gutierrez (Cerritos Collage/USA), Norma Mendez (Arsenal Soccer/USA), Isabel Valdez (Mexico FC), Alexandra Velásquez (Universidad de Juárez), Leticia Villalpando (Vista del Lago HS/USA);
    MD: Rebecca Juarez (Mexico FC), Areli Martinez (Selección Jalisco), Tania Morales (Chivas Guadalajara), Christine Nieva (Arizona State University/USA);
    AT: Jackie Acevedo (University of Tennessee/USA), Monique Cisneros (Cerritos Infinity/USA), Verónica Charlyn Corral (Andrea's Soccer), Nancy Gandarilla (Atlas), Janet Mendez (Arsenal Soccer/USA), Monica Ocampo (Gacelas Univac).
    TD: Leonardo CUELLAR

    GK: Kelsey Davis (University of Portland), Joanna Haig (University of Louisville), Valerie Henderson (UCLA);
    DF: Carrie Dew (University of Norte Dame), Erin Hardy (UCLA), Nicole Krzysik (University of Virginia), Stephanie Logterman (University of Texas), Stephanie Lopez (University of Portland), Sarah Wagenfuhr (Florida State University);
    MD: Danesha Adams (UCLA), Jordan Angeli (University of Santa Clara), Brittany Bock (Universit of Notre Dame), Tina DiMartino (UCLA), Tobin Heath (UNC), Alexandra Long (Penn State University), Casey Nogueira (UNC), Amanda Poach (University of Santa Clara);
    AT: Lauren Cheney (UCLA), Kelley O'Hara (Stanford University), Amy Rodriguez (University of Southern California).
    TD: Timothy SCHULZ

    CONCACAF Schedule
    Group B
    17.08.2006: Moscow's Podmoskovie Stadium (19:00)

    20.08.2006: Moscow's Podmoskovie Stadium (16:00)

    23.08.2006: Moscow's Torpedo Stadium (19:00)

    Group C
    18.08.2006: Moscow's Dynamo Stadium (16:00)

    21.08.2006: Moscow's Dynamo Stadium (16:00)

    24.08.2006: Moscow's Dynamo Stadium (16:00)

    Group D
    18.08.2006: Moscow's Torpedo Stadium (16:00)

    21.08.2006: Moscow's Torpedo Stadium (16:00)

    24.08.2006: Moscow's Dynamo Stadium (19:00)

    Photos from Christian Palma/MEXSPORT
    Imagine #1 - Canada vs. USA
    Imagine #2 - Mexico


  • Champions League

    Related News


Draw Reveals Groups and Schedule for the CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship 2018

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) conducted this morning the draw for the CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship Trinidad & Tobago 2018, at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad &Tobago.

Official Draw: Under-20 Women's Championship

Tune in at 9am ET/10am local to view the Official Draw for the CONCACAF Under-20 Women's Championship Trinidad & Tobago 2018 live.

Trinidad & Tobago Set for 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced that Trinidad & Tobago will host the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship, scheduled for January 18-28, 2018. The draw for the event will be held on November 7 in Port of Spain.

Official Draw: CONCACAF Caribbean Women's Under-20 Qualifier 2017

Japan tops U.S. for third at U-20 WWC

A late goal by substitute Mami Ueno gave Japan a 1-0 win over the United States in the 2016 FIFA Under-20 Women's World Cup third-place match.