• Monday Jan 28, 2008

    CONCACAF Champions League Officially Launched

    CONCACAF announced today the official launch of the new continental club championship, the CONCACAF Champions League which will commence in August 2008. The CONCACAF Champions League will replace the Champions' Cup which will cease to exist after the 2008 edition.

    The CONCACAF Champions League will see a Confederation record number of 24 teams from all sectors of the CONCACAF region participating. The preliminary round begins in August 2008 with the first CONCACAF Champions League winner to be crowned in late April 2009.

    The CONCACAF Champions League will feature four teams from Mexico and USA; three Caribbean sides; two clubs each from Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama; and one representative coming from Canada, Belize, and Nicaragua.

    Eight clubs (two Mexican, two USA, one each from Costa Rica, Honduras, Guatemala, El Salvador) will be seeded and progress directly to the first round of the CONCACAF Champions League, while the Caribbean slots have been increased to three teams for this event.

    The remaining 16 teams will be paired in eight home-and-away preliminary match-ups taking place from 26-28 August and 2-4 September.

    The preliminary round winners will join the other eight seeded teams in the group stage that consists of four groups of four. All the teams in each group will play each other in a round-robin system during six match dates (three home games, three away games) from 16 September - 30 October.

    The top two clubs from each group will advance to the knock out phase playing home-and-away elimination. The quarterfinals commence in February 2009; semifinals begin in March; and the Finals will take place in late April.

    The CONCACAF Champions League winner will qualify as the CONCACAF's representative to the 2009 edition of the FIFA Club World Cup.

    Calendar of Events
    End July: All qualification completed, draw for preliminary round
    26-28 August: Preliminary Round, First-legs
    2-4 September: Preliminary Round, Second-legs
    Early September: Group Stage Schedule Announced
    16-18 September: Group Stage - Match Day 1
    23-25 September: Group Stage - Match Day 2
    30 September - 2 October: Group Stage - Match Day 3
    7-9 October: Group Stage - Match Day 4
    21-23 October: Group Stage - Match Day 5
    28-30 October: Group Stage - Match Day 6

    24-26 February: Quarterfinals, First-legs
    3-5 March: Quarterfinals, Second-legs
    17-19 March: Semifinals, First-legs
    7-9 April: Semifinals, Second-legs
    21-23 April: Final, First-leg
    28-30 April: Final, Second-leg
    December: FIFA Club World Cup

  • Champions League

    Related News


Tigres, Santa Tecla: home unbeaten streaks at a glance

If there is one mantra in which all coaches from across the CONCACAF region believe, it is the importance of defending home soil.

Club Tijuana looks to defense as Monterrey clash nears

Unbeaten after two games to start the 2018 Liga MX Clausura (1W-1D-0L, 4 points), Club Tijuana is the only team yet to concede a goal.

Herediano signs Mexico’s Arellano

Herediano announced Sunday the signing the signing of Mexican striker Omar Arellano to a one-year contract.

Tigres’ Sosa on beating Santos: “An important win for what’s ahead”

Current Liga MX Apertura champion Tigres collected its first win of the 2018 Apertura with a 2-1 home triumph over Santos on Saturday night.

CONCACAF Weekend's Best (January 15, 2018)

CONCACAF.com takes a look at the best performances and most interesting stories in CONCACAF Weekend’s Best.