• Monday Apr 25, 2016

    Club America and Tigres UANL unite with the Confederation to promote diversity

    The champion will be crowned in Mexico City, on April 27th

    Miami (Monday, April 25th 2016) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF), Club America and Tigres UANL are joining forces on Tuesday, April 26th to send out a strong message on social responsibility focused on promoting diversity and respect, on the eve of the final of the 2015/16 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League (SCCL).

    Through the power of football, the SCCL finalists will provide an opportunity for children and youth of different ages to participate in an educational workshop aimed at raising awareness about the importance of understanding and respecting diversity and inclusion. The workshop will be followed by a soccer clinic, including activities to improve football skills. The initiative will culminate with a match at the headquarters of each club.  

    The workshops will be conducted with the cooperation of expert coaches from the Confederation, the clubs and the global organization The Non-Violence Project Foundation (NVP), which promotes inclusion, peace and respect through sport.

    The clubs’ initiative is related to the CONCACAF Embrace Diversity program and Liga MX’s Abrazados por el Futbol campaign. 

    The Confederation launched its Embrace Diversity initiative in 2013 to promote integration, equality, respect and fair-play through football.

    On this occasion, Mexico’s football family, as the host of the SCCL final, is uniting with the Confederation to promote a common cause through the Abrazados por el Futbol campaign. This recently-launched initiative is a collective effort aimed at encouraging respect toward others.

    The 2015-16 champion will be determined in Mexico City, on April 27 at 9:45 PM ET, at the historic Estadio Azteca. The winner of the 2015-16 CONCACAF Champions earns the prized ticket to the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2016.

    The Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League is the region’s most important club championship, disputed among the club champions of leagues from around the CONCACAF region. The tournament begins with a group phase, followed by a three-round knockout phase.

  • Champions League

    Related News


CONCACAF Weekend’s Best (November 20, 2017)

CONCACAF.com takes a look at the best performances and most interesting stories in CONCACAF Weekend’s Best.

Plaza Amador tops Arabe Unido in Panamanian playoffs

Plaza Amador seized the initial advantage in its 2017 Panamanian Apertura semifinal series with host Arabe Unido by earning a 1-0 win in the opener on Sunday at the Estadio Armando Dely Valdes.

High standards driving Club America

At Club America, the bar is always set high.

Chorrillo, Tauro draw in Panamanian playoff opener

Chorrillo FC and top-seeded Tauro FC opened their 2017 Panamanian Apertura semifinal with a 0-0 draw on Saturday at the Estadio Maracana.

Cibao FC uses Clásico de Campeones as SCCL prep

The Dominican Republic’s Cibao FC returned to international football Thursday, dropping a narrow 2-1 decision to Haitian champion Real Hope Football Academy in the Clásico de Campeones.