• Friday Apr 11, 2014

    CFU reveals Caribbean Women’s Cup format, groups

    Action from the CONCACAF Women's World Cup qualifier between Trinidad & Tobago (left) and Guyana on November 8, 2010, in Cancun, Mexico. (Photo: Mexsport)

    KINGSTON, Jamaica – Qualifying in CONCACAF for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup kicks-off next month with the inaugural Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Caribbean Women’s Cup, it was announced Thursday.

    The first round, consists of 19 teams split into four groups of four teams each and one of three teams, opens on May 21.  The five group winners, plus the two best second-place finishers from Groups 1, 2, 4 and 5, will join host Trinidad & Tobago in the eight-team final round, which will be played August 17-27. 

    “It is the vision of the CFU’s President Gordon Derrick to introduce this tournament, the CFU Women’s Football Committee enthusiasm to develop the idea, and Member Associations’ foresight and unrelenting pursuit of the development of Women’s Football in the Caribbean Region that have brought us to this historic moment,” said CFU General Secretary Damien Hughes.



    First Round

    GROUP 1 (May 21-28, 2014)
    Antigua & Barbuda (host)
    St. Vincent & the Grenadines
    U.S. Virgin Islands

    GROUP 2 (May 21-28, 2014)
    Puerto Rico (host)

    GROUP 3 (May 21-28, 2014)
    Turks & Caicos Islands (host)
    Cayman Islands
    St. Kitts & Nevis

    GROUP 4 (May 28 – June 4, 2014)
    Haiti (host)

    GROUP 5 (June 16-23, 2014)
    Dominican Republic (host)
    St. Lucia

  • Champions League

    Related News


Group Seeds and Game Dates Announced for 2016 Copa America Centenario 

Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and the United States Head the Four Groups in the Tournament; Seeded Nations to Visit Nine of the Ten Host Markets in Group Play

CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Ten Metropolitan Areas from Across the United States Selected to Host Copa America Centenario

Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Seattle Will Host Games for the 100-Year Anniversary Edition of the South American Championship

CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, and US Soccer Confirm USA as Host for Copa America Centenario

Enhanced governance, transparency, and accountability measures adopted to ensure sound management of tournament operations and finances

Final 23-Player Rosters for CONCACAF Cup 2015 Chosen by Mexico and United States

Both teams name final lists for October 10 match at Pasadena’s Rose Bowl