• Monday Aug 25, 2014

    CFCC: Glucosoral tops Borussia on PKs for crown

    Guatemala's Glucosoral (pictured) celebrates after being crowned champion of the inaugural CONCACAF Futsal Club Championship on August 24, 2014, at the Domo Polideportivo in Guatemala City, Guatemala. (Photo: Juan Meoño)

    GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala --- Glucosoral was crowned champion of the inaugural CONCACAF Futsal Club Championship on Sunday, overcoming Borussia 5-4 on penalty kicks after their final ended 4-4 in front of 4,682 fans at the Domo Polideportivo.

    In a match pitting Central American rivals against each other, Costa Rica’s Borussia rallied from a two-goal deficit, as Alonso Cordero netted twice in the last 10 minutes to level the score and force overtime.

    Neither team found the back of the net in either of two supplemental periods consisting of three minutes each.

    In the penalty kick shootout, goalkeeper William Ramirez stopped two attempts to give the Guatemalans the title.

    Glucosoral jumped out to a 4-2 lead before halftime thanks to an Edgar Santizo brace, as well as single tallies from José Mansilla and Rafael González.  Marco Lopez and Edwin Cubillo were are target for Borussia in the opening 20 minutes.

    For the tournament-deciding penalties, Borussia head coach Esteban Jimenez changed goalkeepers, inserting Alfred Lowe for Fabian Alvarado.  Lowe made a save on Edgar Santizo, but it wasn’t enough.

    Scoring Summary:

    1-0  Rafael González, Glucosoral (10:17)

    2-0  José Mansilla, Glucosoral (12:57)

    2-1  Marco López, Borussia (15:32)

    3-1  Edgar Santizo, Glucosoral (15:49)

    3-2  Edwin Cubillo, Borussia (15:57)

    3-3  Alonso Cordero, Borussia (30:37)

    4-4  Alonso Cordero, Borussia (39:41)

  • Champions League

    Related News


Portugal tops Costa Rica at Futsal World Cup

Portugal's Ricardinho (left) holds off Gilberth Garro of Costa Rica during their FIFA Futsal World Cup round of 16 match on September 21, 2016, in Cali, Colombia. (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)

Futsal WC: CONCACAF champion Costa Rica advances

Costa Rica earned a Round of 16 berth at the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup after playing first-place Argentina to a 2-2 draw in Group E on Sunday at the Coliseo de Pueblo.

Futsal WC: CONCACAF sides will look to bounce back

In the second round of games at the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup, each of CONCACAF’s four representatives suffered setbacks.

Futsal WC: Panama, Costa Rica open with wins

CONCACAF’s four representatives have played one game each at the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup, with two winning and two falling.

CFC awards presented after Costa Rica lifts trophy

Following Costa Rica’s 4-0 win over Panama in the 2016 CONCACAF Futsal Championship (CFC) final on Saturday awards were presented in front of the crowd at BN Arena.