• Saturday Jun 07, 2014

    Central American Cup 2014 to Open in Washington, D.C. with Triple-Header

    Regional championship heads to RFK Stadium on September 3

    GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala (Saturday, June 7, 2014) – The Central American Football Union (UNCAF) announced today that the Central American Cup USA 2014 will open with a triple-header at Robert F. Kennedy Stadium in Washington, D.C., on Wednesday, September 3.

    The Central American Cup is the region’s championship for national teams, which will also serve as a qualifying competition for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup and, on this occasion, the Centennial Cup America 2016.

    Historic RFK Stadium is long-time home to D.C. United of Major League Soccer and served as a venue for the 1994 FIFA World Cup, as well as the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2009 and 2011.  The stadium has also hosted the National Football League and Major League Baseball, plus numerous international soccer events.

    UNCAF’s seven member associations – Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama – will dispute the 13th edition of the Central American Cup in cities across the United States from September 3-13, 2014.

    In addition to providing a series of berths in important international tournaments, the Central American Cup USA 2014 will be held in celebration of UNCAF’s upcoming 25th anniversary.

    The Central American Cup has been contested 12 times, beginning in 1991. Costa Rica is the current champion and has been crowned a record seven times.  Honduras is next with three titles, while Guatemala and Panama have won one each.

    The tournament’s Final will be held at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on September 13.  Further venue announcements and information about groups and scheduling will be released in the coming weeks.  The new Central American Cup logo was unveiled on May 27 and can be downloaded by clicking here
    The Organizing Committee for the Central American Cup USA 2014 is headed by CONCACAF and Soccer United Marketing.  Tickets for the Central American Cup will go on sale in July.

    The sponsorship rights are being managed jointly by Imagina USA and Traffic USA.

  • Champions League

    Related News


CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Sopegno steps away from Guatemala post

Ivan Sopegno has resigned from his position as head coach of Guatemala, the Federación Nacional de Fútbol de Guatemala announced Thursday.

CONCACAF referees earn U-17 World Cup roles

FIFA released Wednesday names of match officials assigned duties at the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Chile.

Costa Rica Named Host for 2016 CONCACAF Futsal Championship

Eight teams will compete for regional championship and four spots in the FIFA Futsal World Cup Colombia 2016