• Monday Apr 21, 2014

    CCL Final: All-Time Results & Scorers

    Action from the inaugural CONCACAF Champions League final between host Atlante (left) and Cruz Azul on May 12, 2009 in Cancun, Mexico. (Photo: Mexsport)

    MEXICO CITY – The first leg of the 2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League (CCL) final finished scoreless for the second consecutive year as host Cruz Azul and Toluca battled to a stalemate at the rain-soaked Estadio Azul on April 15. 

    Both sides will meet again at the Estadio Nemesio Diez on Wednesday in search of their first CCL championship, though they have won seven CONCACAF Champions Cup titles between them (Cruz Azul, a record-equaling five, and two for Toluca).

    Another goalless draw in the second leg will take the series to extra time.  A draw of 1-1 or greater will give the crown to Cruz Azul on the away-goals rule.  The only time a champion was determined using that method happened in the 2009-10 edition, when a last-minute strike by Edgar Benitez – who now plays for Toluca – saw Pachuca overcome Cruz Azul after 180 minutes of play ended 2-2 on aggregate.

    Regardless of the final result, there will be a new Confederation champion for the first time in four years, as Monterrey’s three-year reign officially comes to an end.

    Below, CONCACAF.com takes a look back at the previous finals.



    April 22, 2009: Mexico City, Mexico – Estadio Azul (A: 22718)
    Cruz Azul  0
    Atlante  2  (Fernando Navarro 17'; Christian Bermudez 24’)

    May 12, 2009: Cancun, Mexico – Estadio Olimpico Andres Quintana Roo (A: 13000)
    Atlante  0
    Cruz Azul  0
    Atlante wins 2008/09 CONCACAF Champions League (Aggregate: 2-0)

    April 21, 2010: Mexico City, Mexico – Estadio Azul (A: 16186)}
    Cruz Azul  2  (Emanuel Villa 20'; own-goal, Carlos Rodriguez 24')
    Pachuca  1  (Damian Alvarez 69')

    April 28, 2010: Pachuca, Mexico – Estadio Hidalgo (A: 26500)
    Pachuca  1  (Edgar Benitez 90’)
    Cruz Azul  0
    Pachuca wins 2009/10 CONCACAF Champions League on away goals rule (Aggregate: 2-2)

    April 20, 2011: Monterrey, Mexico – Estadio Tecnologico (A: 30247)
    Monterrey  2  (Aldo De Nigris 18'; Humberto Suazo 62' pen)
    Real Salt Lake  2  (Nate Borchers 35'; Javier Morales 89')

    April 27, 2011: Sandy, Utah, USA – Rio Tinto Stadium (A: 20378)
    Real Salt Lake  0
    Monterrey  1  (Humberto Suazo 45'+1)
    Monterrey wins 2010/11 CONCACAF Champions League (Aggregate: 3-2)

    April 18, 2012: Monterrey, Mexico – Estadio Tecnologico (A: 29300)
    Monterrey  2  (Humberto Suazo 60’, 86’)
    Santos  0

    April 25, 2012: Torreon, Mexico – Estadio Corona (A: 28000)
    Santos  2  (Daniel Ludueña 45’; Oribe Peralta 51’)
    Monterrey  1  (Neri Cardozo 81’)
    Monterrey wins 2011/12 CONCACAF Champions League (Aggregate: 3-2)

    April 24, 2013: Torreon, Mexico – Estadio Corona (A: 21401)
    Santos  0
    Monterrey  0

    May 1, 2013: Monterrey, Mexico – Estadio Tecnologico (A: 33667)
    Monterrey  4  (Aldo De Nigris 60’, 86’; Neri Cardozo 83’)
    Santos  2  (Carlos Darwin Quintero 38’; Felipe Baloy 51’)
    Monterrey wins 2012/13 CONCACAF Champions League (Aggregate: 4-2)

    April 15, 2014: Mexico City, Mexico – Estadio Azul (A: 24329)
    Cruz Azul  0
    Toluca  0

  • Champions League

    Related News


Ticket Lottery Details Announced for CONCACAF Cup Match between USA and Mexico on October 10 at the Rose Bowl

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced details for the ticketing process to be implemented for the CONCACAF Cup, which is being presented by Scotiabank – the FIFA Confederations Cup playoff match between the United States and Mexico on Saturday, October 10, at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA (6 pm PT).

Tickets for the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship on Sale Later This Month

The Confederation of North, Central America and the Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) and the Local Organizing Committee, US Soccer, announced today that tickets for the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship, which will be played in the United States from October 1-13, will go on sale later this month. Venues in four different cities will each host two doubleheaders.

Group Seeds and Game Dates Announced for 2016 Copa America Centenario 

Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and the United States Head the Four Groups in the Tournament; Seeded Nations to Visit Nine of the Ten Host Markets in Group Play

CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Ten Metropolitan Areas from Across the United States Selected to Host Copa America Centenario

Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Seattle Will Host Games for the 100-Year Anniversary Edition of the South American Championship