• Wednesday Apr 23, 2014

    CCL 2014-15: 15 berths confirmed, 9 to be decided

    Porfirio Lopez (pictured) and 2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League semifinalist Alajuelense have qualified for the next edition of the competition. (Photo: Mexsport)

    MIAMI – Following Cruz Azul’s magnificent run to the 2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League (CCL) title, thoughts immediately turn towards the competition’s next edition.

    The process to determine qualifiers for the 2014-15 CCL is in full swing as 15 of the eventual 24 qualifiers are already known.

    In December, El Salvador’s Isidro Metapan became the first team to qualify for every CCL (seven in total).  Olimpia of Honduras is the only other side possessing the potential to match that mark. 

    With nine coveted places still at stake, the next few weeks around the region promise to be lively and hard fought.


    Here’s an update on the 2014-15 CCL qualifiers (previous appearances in parentheses):


    Canada – 0/1
    To be determined … 2014 Amway Canadian Championship winner

     Mexico – 2/4
    Leon (0) … 2013 Apertura champion
    Club America (1) … 2013 Apertura runner-up
    To be determined … 2014 Clausura champion
    To be determined … 2014 Clausura runner-up

    United States – 4/4
    Sporting Kansas City (1) … 2013 Major League Soccer champion
    New York Red Bulls (1) … 2013 Major League Soccer Supporters’ Shield winner
    Portland Timbers (0) … 2013 Major League Soccer Western Conference champion
    D.C. United (2) … 2013 U.S. Open Cup champion



    Belize – 0/1
    To be determined … champion with most points over both seasons 

    Costa Rica – 1/2
    Alajuelense (4) … 2013 Invierno champion
    To be determined … 2014 Verano champion 

    El Salvador – 1/2
    Isidro Metapan (6) … 2013 Apertura champion
    To be determined … 2014 Clausura champion

    Guatemala – 1/2
    Comunicaciones (3) … 2013 Apertura champion
    To be determined … 2014 Clausura champion

    Honduras – 1/2
    Real España (2) … 2013 Apertura champion
    To be determined … 2014 Clausura champion

    Nicaragua – 1/1
    Real Esteli (4) … champion with most points over both seasons

    Panama – 1/2
    Tauro (4) … 2013 Apertura champion
    To be determined … 2014 Clausura champion


    CARIBBEAN – 3/3

    Puerto Rico
    Puerto Rico Bayamon FC (0) … 2014 CFU Club Championship - Group 1 winner 

    Waterhouse (0) … 2014 CFU Club Championship - Group 2 winner

    Alpha United (1) … 2014 CFU Club Championship - Group 3 winner

  • Champions League

    Related News


Ticket Lottery Details Announced for CONCACAF Cup Match between USA and Mexico on October 10 at the Rose Bowl

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced details for the ticketing process to be implemented for the CONCACAF Cup, which is being presented by Scotiabank – the FIFA Confederations Cup playoff match between the United States and Mexico on Saturday, October 10, at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA (6 pm PT).

Group Seeds and Game Dates Announced for 2016 Copa America Centenario 

Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and the United States Head the Four Groups in the Tournament; Seeded Nations to Visit Nine of the Ten Host Markets in Group Play

CONCACAF Announces Details of Copa America Centenario Play-in Matches, Scheduled for January 8 in Panama

Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti to determine Confederation’s final two entrants in historic tournament

Ten Metropolitan Areas from Across the United States Selected to Host Copa America Centenario

Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Seattle Will Host Games for the 100-Year Anniversary Edition of the South American Championship

Ticket Purchase Lottery Opens September 9 for CONCACAF Cup

Fans can register at www.CONCACAF.com for opportunity to purchase tickets